Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

Winners – Honour Awards

2017 Honour Award Recipients

Gold Medal recipient:

Dr Beverley Orser

Toronto, ON

The Gold Medal is the highest award given by CAS. It is a personal award consisting of an inscribed medal given in recognition of excellence and leadership in anesthesia.

Learn more about the Award


Clinical Teacher Award recipient:

Dr Jean Bussières

Quebec, QC

The Clinical Teacher Award recognizes excellence in the teaching of clinical anesthesia.

Learn more about the Award

Clinical Practitioner Award recipient:

Dr Stephen Kowalski

Winnipeg, MB

The Clinical Practitioner Award recognizes excellence in clinical anesthesia practice.

Learn more about the Award


John Bradley Young Educator Award recipient:

Dr Paul Wieczorek

Montreal, QC

The John Bradley Young Educator Award recognizes excellence and effectiveness in education in anesthesia.

Learn more about the Award


Research Recognition Award recipient:

Dr Gregory Hare

Toronto, ON

The Research Recognition Award honours a senior investigator who has contributed to and sustained major contributions in anesthesia research in Canada.

Learn more about the Award


Emeritus Membership recipient:

Dr Diane Biehl
Winnipeg, MB

Emeritus Membership recognizes retired individuals who during their long-standing practice made a significant contribution to anesthesia.

Medical Student Prize recipients:

The Medical Student Prize increases awareness among undergraduate medical students of the specialty of anesthesia and the role of anesthesiologists in healthcare.

2017 Medical Student Prize recipients


Gold Award Past Winners

Clinical Teacher Past Winners

Clinical Practitioner Past Winners

John Bradley Young Educator Award Past Winners

Medical Student Prize Award Past Winners

Research Recognition Award Past Winners