Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Beverly Charles Leech


Dr Beverly Charles Leech  (1898-1960)


Canadian anaesthesia owes much to those pioneers who, earlier this century, practised outside the larger academic centres. William Webster, of Winnipeg, led the first generation of these pioneers; Beverly Charles Leech, who practised in Regina from 1925 to 1956, was one of the second generation. President of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society from 1948 to 1949, he did much to ensure that the standard of anaesthesia in Saskatchewan, as well as Regina, came to equal that achieved anywhere outside the principal teaching centres. His contributions still are not forgotten: an annual lecture and a medal are but two memorials to his work in Saskatchewan.

Leech was born in Brandon, Manitoba, on May 9, 1898. Schooling in Regina and Brandon was followed by wartime military service as an infantry lieutenant. Still a young man, he then studied medicine at McGill University, graduating in 1925. At once he returned to Regina, and in 1929 he became Director of Anaesthesia at the Regina General Hospital. Bev Leech was an able administrator, with clear views on how a department of anaesthesia should be run. In the "dirty thirties" many hospitals in Western Canada employed physicians on salary to give anaesthesia, and few good doctors were attracted to the specialty under these circumstances. Leech argued that anaesthesia care could, and should, be delivered efficiently and ethically by physicians practising independently of such a system. His role in securing and maintaining high professional standards bore fruit, and the standard and status of anaesthesia that Saskatchewan's anaesthetists take pride in today owe much to Leech's efforts.

But Leech was primarily a clinical anaesthetist. Concerned with providing sound anaesthesia in the pre-relaxant era, he favoured the use of procaine for spinal anaesthesia and cyclopropane for general anesthesia. Both techniques had their opponents; these he answered in two articles, based on wide experience, published in 1934.

He invented an ingenious device to facilitate the administration of cyclopropane. The problem: the need to give cyclopropane, an inflammable gas, in a closed circuit without a leak, in an era when tracheal intubation was uncommon. The solution: the "pharyngeal bulb gas way." The device: a rubber bulbous plug, with a hollow airway core, shaped "so that under surgical anesthesia the pharyngeal tissues [would] 'relax' round and about it, making a completely airtight system under ordinary pressures of the anesthetic gaseous mixture."

By the end of the 1930s Leech was well known in the United States as well as Canada. But then, for a second time, the world became engulfed by war, and, for a second time, Leech joined up. He served as Officer Commanding, 10th Canadian Field Ambulance from 1939-1942, Officer Commanding, No.5 Canadian General Hospital from 1942-1944, and Assistant Director Medical Services, 2nd Canadian Division in 1944. He served with distinction; the Order of the British Empire and the Legion d'Honneur were among the decorations bestowed on him. An interesting and poignant reflection of his wartime service was his report in 1943 on casualties sustained by Canadians in the Dieppe raid in August 1942. In this article, besides stressing the value of sodium thiopental and cyclopropane in skilled hands and of ether in less skilled hands, he expressed the hope that "anaesthetic administration in the Army will never have to be assigned to anyone who is not a graduate in medicine."

The war over, Leech returned to Regina, where he continued to distinguish himself. It was fitting that a man who had been the first anaesthetist in Saskatchewan to become a Certificant of the Royal College (in 1943) should be the first from Saskatchewan to preside over the national society. He had fully earned his reward.

Leech left Regina in 1956 for Nanaimo, British Columbia. There he continued to earn the respect that he had always been granted, and enjoyed the popularity that this friendly and sterling Canadian had always enjoyed. He died in 1956, aged 61. He would have wanted no memorial other than the knowledge that he, as a pioneer, had forged a path that would make it easier for his successors to practise anaesthesia of the standard that he never failed to achieve.


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1990 / 37:6 /p.689

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributor important : Dr Beverly Charles Leech


Dr Beverly Charles Leech  (1898-1960)


L’anesthésiologie canadienne doit beaucoup à ces pionniers qui, au début du siècle, pratiquaient à l’extérieur des grands centres universitaires. William Webster, de Winnipeg, a mené la première génération de ces pionniers; Beverly Charles Leech, qui a pratiqué à Regina de 1925 à 1956, a fait partie de la seconde génération. Président de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes de 1948 à 1949, il a beaucoup contribué à assurer que les normes d’anesthésie en Saskatchewan, de même qu’à Regina, soient à la hauteur de celles atteintes n’importe où à l’extérieur des principaux centres d’enseignement. Ses contributions ne sont pas oubliées à ce jour : une conférence annuelle et une médaille sont deux des commémorations de son travail en Saskatchewan.

Le Dr Leech est né à Brandon, au Manitoba, le 9 mai 1898. Ses années d’études à Regina et à Brandon ont été suivies d’un service militaire en temps de guerre au rang de lieutenant d’infanterie. Encore jeune homme, il a ensuite fait ses études de médecine à l’Université McGill et a obtenu son diplôme en 1925. Il est rentré aussitôt à Regina pour devenir, en 1929, directeur du Département d’anesthésie de l’Hôpital Regina General. Le Dr Leech était un administrateur habile, avec des idées bien arrêtées sur la gestion d’un département d’anesthésie. Dans les « sales années 1930 », de nombreux hôpitaux de l’Ouest canadien employaient des médecins salariés pour effectuer des anesthésies et, dans ces circonstances, peu de bons médecins étaient attirés par cette spécialité. Le Dr Leech a fait valoir que les soins anesthésiques pouvaient et devaient être administrés de façon efficace et éthique par des médecins pratiquant indépendamment d’un tel système. Son rôle dans l’instauration et le maintien de normes professionnelles élevées a porté ses fruits et la norme et le statut de l’anesthésie, qui font la fierté des anesthésistes d’aujourd’hui en Saskatchewan, sont attribuables en grande partie aux efforts du Dr Leech.

Mais le Dr Leech était principalement un anesthésiste clinique. Soucieux de fournir une bonne anesthésie à une époque où les relaxants n’étaient pas encore administrés, il préférait l’utilisation de la procaïne pour les anesthésies rachidiennes et du cyclopropane pour l’anesthésie générale. Les deux techniques avaient leurs opposants, auxquels le Dr Leech a adressé une réplique dans deux articles fondés sur sa vaste expérience et publiés en 1934.

Le Dr Leech a inventé un appareil ingénieux pour faciliter l’administration du cyclopropane. Le problème : réussir à administrer le cyclopropane, un gaz inflammable, dans un circuit fermé sans fuites, à une époque où l’intubation trachéale était encore peu courante. La solution : la « méthode d’administration du gaz par ballon pharyngé ». L’appareil : un bouchon à bulbe en caoutchouc, au centre creux permettant le passage des gaz, et dont la forme « permet aux tissus du pharynx de se détendre sous anesthésie chirurgicale, de façon à créer un système parfaitement hermétique aux pressions gazeuses habituelles lors de l’administration du mélange gazeux anesthésiant ».

À la fin des années 1930, le Dr Leech était bien connu aux États-Unis et au Canada. C’est alors que pour une seconde fois, le monde entier a été plongé dans la guerre et que pour la seconde fois, le Dr Leech s’est engagé. Il a été assigné au poste d’officier commandant de la 10e Ambulance de campagne du Canada de l’Hôpital général canadien no 5 de 1942 à 1944 et de directeur adjoint des Services de santé de la 2e Division canadienne en 1944. Il a servi avec distinction et l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique et la Légion d’honneur comptent parmi les décorations qui lui ont été décernées. Le rapport de 1943 du Dr Leech sur les soldats canadiens blessés ou tués au cours du raid de Dieppe en 1942 est un reflet intéressant et émouvant de son service militaire en temps de guerre. Dans cet article, où il souligne l’importance du thiopental sodique et du cyclopropane entre des mains expertes et de l’éther entre des mains moins compétentes, il a exprimé l’espoir que « l’administration des anesthésiques dans l’Armée ne soit jamais laissée à quiconque n’est pas diplômé d’une faculté de médecine ».

Une fois la guerre terminée, le Dr Leech est rentré à Regina où il a continué à se distinguer. C’est à juste titre que l’homme qui a été le premier anesthésiste de la Saskatchewan à obtenir sa certification du Collège royal (en 1943) ait été le premier Saskatchewanais à en assumer la présidence. Il avait bien mérité cette récompense.

Le Dr Leech a quitté Regina en 1956 pour s’établir à Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique. Il a continué d’y mériter le respect qu’on lui avait toujours témoigné et de profiter de la popularité dont ce Canadien aimable à la personnalité en or avait toujours joui. Il est décédé en 1956, à l’âge de 61 ans. Il n’aurait voulu d’autre hommage que celui de savoir qu’en tant que pionnier, il avait ouvert la voie qui faciliterait pour ses successeurs la pratique de l’anesthésie selon des normes qu’il n’a jamais manqué d’atteindre..


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1990 / 37:6 /p.689

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA