Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr David Cambell Aikenhead


David Campbell Aikenhead
(1891-1973)


That anaesthesia in Montreal and Toronto early in the 20th century should have developed as rapidly as in leading American and British centres is not surprising, but its successful development elsewhere in so vast and sparsely populated a country as Canada makes us respect those pioneer anaesthetists who worked in smaller centres. Webster in Winnipeg, Muir in Halifax, Leech in Regina and Freeze in Vancouver were such a breed. Another was David Campbell Aikenhead, another Winnipeg anaesthetist.

Aikenhead was born in Hartney, Manitoba, on July 13, 1891. After schooling in Hartney and Melita, he enrolled in Manitoba Medical College in 1912. His third­year studies were interrupted by service with the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps in England and France in 1915 and 1916, but he then returned to complete his medical studies – only to serve in France again for the remainder of the war. He set up general practice in Sinclair, Manitoba, in 1919, but his interest in anaesthesia led him to join the department of anaesthesia at the Winnipeg General Hospital (headed by William Webster) in 1920.

For several years, like many anaesthetists of that era, Aikenhead combined anaesthesia with general practice. However, as the need grew for competent anaesthesia and physicians with a special interest in anaesthesia, so he gave more and more of his time to anaesthesia. By 1935, when Webster died, Aikenhead was ready to take over the headship of the Winnipeg department, and he remained in this position until 1953, when he left for Hamilton and, later, Burlington. He retired from practice in 1969.

Aikenhead practised in exciting years for anaesthetists. New drugs (ethylene, cyclopropane, thiopentone, d­ tubocurarine and, later, other relaxants and the fluorinated volatile agents) and new techniques (endotracheal intubation, carbon dioxide absorption and controlled ventilation) gave anaesthetists previously unknown control of the pharmacological and physiological bases of anaesthesia. Always forward-thinking, Aikenhead welcomed these advances and introduced them to Winnipeg. Membership in the select Anaesthetists' Travel Club gave him knowledge and authority, and he used these to advance anaesthesia in Winnipeg. He developed the department there, stimulated educational activities among his colleagues and initiated meetings from which emerged the Winnipeg Anaesthetists' Society. As well, he put the teaching of students, interns and residents on a firm footing.

Aikenhead's academic interests led him to conduct two reviews of large series of anaesthetics. The first review, published in 1922, was a study of 7,000 anaesthetics. The common agents were ether, chloroform and ethyl chloride. The former two were given by open drop onto a stockinette-covered Gwathmey mask; the last, by either a closed Ormsby inhaler or a Gwathmey mask with a spray and drip technique. Oxygen and a metal airway were used when necessary. Respiratory complications were emphasized for they were fatal in four patients. The second review, published in 1940, was based on a series of 3,549 anaesthetics. Ether, now given by the semi-closed method, constituted almost half of them; cyclopropane was the agent in just under one third; and a "spinal" anaesthetic was administered in a little under one-fifth of the cases. By this time the use of the endotracheal tube was relatively (but still not very) common, being part of the technique in anaesthesia for 300 patients undergoing abdominal operations.

Quietly but steadily, Aikenhead became well known and respected in both anaesthesia and medical circles. He was a member of the Council of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society from 1943 to 1947, and he was president of the Manitoba Medical Association from 1943 to 1944.

David Aikenhead was one of those individuals whose presence made a difference to those around him, whether these were his patients, his colleagues, hospital employees or members of his community. He was wise, humane and kind. Excellence came naturally to him, and Canadian anaesthetists have reason to admire his pioneering achievements, which did much to lay a path for others to follow.

David A.E. Shephard MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1994/ 41:6 /p547

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr David Cambell Aikenhead


David Campbell Aikenhead
(1891-1973)


Il n’est pas étonnant qu’au début du 20e siècle, l’anesthésie à Montréal et à Toronto se soit développée aussi rapidement que dans les grands centres américains ou britanniques, mais son développement réussi ailleurs dans un pays aussi vaste et aussi peu peuplé que le Canada nous laisse empreints de respect pour les anesthésistes pionniers qui ont travaillé dans de plus petits centres. Le Dr Webster à Winnipeg, le Dr Muir à Halifax, le Dr Leech à Regina et le Dr Freeze à Vancouver étaient des hommes de cette trempe, ainsi que l’était le Dr David Campbell Aikenhead, lui aussi anesthésiste à Winnipeg.

Le Dr Aikenhead est né à Hartney, au Manitoba, le 13 juillet 1891. Après des études à Hartney et à Melita, il s’est inscrit au Collège médical du Manitoba en 1912. Ses études de troisième année ont été interrompues par son service militaire au sein du Corps médical militaire royal du Canada en Angleterre et en France en 1915 et 1916. Il est ensuite revenu au pays pour terminer ses études de médecine – mais est retourné en France à nouveau pour servir jusqu’à la fin de la guerre. En 1919, il a établi une pratique générale à Sinclair, au Manitoba, mais son intérêt pour l’anesthésie l’a amené à entrer au Département d’anesthésie de l’Hôpital Winnipeg General (dirigé par William Webster) en 1920.

Pendant plusieurs années, comme beaucoup d’anesthésistes de cette époque, le Dr Aikenhead a combiné anesthésie et médecine générale. Cependant, le besoin croissant d’anesthésie compétente et de médecins ayant un intérêt particulier pour l’anesthésie ont incité le Dr Aikenhead à y consacrer de plus en plus de son temps. En 1935, année du décès du Dr Webster, le Dr Aikenhead était prêt à prendre la direction du département de Winnipeg et il a occupé ce poste jusqu’en 1953, lorsqu’il est déménagé à Hamilton et, plus tard, à Burlington. Il a pris sa retraite en 1969.

Le Dr Aikenhead a pratiqué au cours d’une période qui a été stimulante pour les anesthésistes. De nouveaux médicaments (l’éthylène, le cyclopropane, le thiopental, la d­tubocurarine et, plus tard, d’autres myorelaxants et les agents volatils fluorés) et de nouvelles techniques (l’intubation endotrachéale, l’absorption de dioxyde de carbone et la ventilation contrôlée) ont donné aux anesthésistes un contrôle auparavant inconnu sur les éléments pharmacologiques et physiologiques de l’anesthésie. Toujours visionnaire, le Dr Aikenhead a accueilli ces avancées et les a implantées à Winnipeg. Son adhésion au très sélect « Anesthetists’ Travel Club » lui conférait connaissances et autorité, qu’il a mis à profit pour faire progresser l’anesthésie à Winnipeg. Il y a créé le département d’anesthésie, a stimulé les activités éducatives chez ses collègues et a lancé les rencontres qui ont donné naissance à la Société des anesthésistes de Winnipeg. Il a de plus établi des bases solides pour l’enseignement des étudiants, des internes et des résidents.

Les intérêts universitaires du Dr Aikenhead l’ont mené à réaliser deux études sur de larges séries d’anesthésiques. La première étude, publiée en 1922, portait sur 7 000 anesthésies. Les agents courants étaient l’éther, le chloroforme et le chlorure d’éthyle. Les deux premiers étaient administrés par goutte à goutte sur un masque Gwathmey recouvert d’un jersey de coton; le dernier, à l’aide d’un inhalateur à circuit fermé Ormsby ou d’un masque Gwathmey en utilisant la technique de vaporisation et d’instillation goutte à goutte. De l’oxygène et une voie respiratoire en métal étaient utilisés au besoin. Les complications respiratoires étaient soulignées parce qu’elles avaient été mortelles chez quatre patients. La seconde étude, publiée en 1940, portait sur une série de 3 549 anesthésies. Près de la moitié de ces anesthésies étaient effectuées à l’éther, maintenant administré par la méthode semi-fermée, et près d’un tiers, à la cyclosporine. Dans moins d’un cinquième des cas, l’anesthésiant avait été administré par voie rachidienne. À cette époque, l’utilisation du tube endotrachéal était relativement fréquente (mais pas encore très répandue) et avait fait partie de la technique d’anesthésie employée sur 300 patients subissant une chirurgie abdominale.

Lentement, mais sûrement, le Dr Aikenhead est devenu connu et respecté à la fois dans les cercles d’anesthésie et les cercles médicaux. Il a été membre du Conseil de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes de 1943 à 1947 et il a présidé l’Association médicale du Manitoba de 1943 à 1944.

David Aikenhead était l’un de ces individus dont la présence faisait une différence dans son entourage, qu’il s’agisse de patients, de collègues, d’employés de l’hôpital ou de membres de sa communauté. Il était sage, empreint de compassion et bon. L’excellence lui venait tout naturellement et les anesthésistes canadiens ont raison d’admirer ses réalisations novatrices qui ont beaucoup contribué à ouvrir la voie aux autres.

David A.E. Shephard MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1994/ 41:6 /p.547

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA