Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Donald A. Warren


Dr Donald A. Warren
(1899-1971)


As the years go by and as memories of early 20th-century anaesthesia and anaesthetists fade into the dim remembrances of more than a century past, it is well to remember former colleagues and predecessors whose dedication and service otherwise leave them as unsung heroes. One of these was Donald Warren, who gave over half a century of devoted service to his native city of Hamilton and over a decade of military service to his country.

Donald Warren was born in Hamilton in 1899 and died there in 1971. He was educated in Hamilton Public Schools and the University of Toronto and interned in Hamilton General Hospital before practising for a short period in Dunnville, Ontario. Then, in the early days of World War I he joined the Royal Warwickshire Regiment as Medical Officer. For gallantry he was awarded the Military Cross. In 1918 he was transferred to the Canadian Army Medical Corps.

With the war over, Warren decided to practise anaesthesia back home. To prepare himself, he took training in the leading centres of Cleveland, Toledo and Madison. He returned to Hamilton in 1919, where, with Dr William Cody, he inaugurated the anaesthetic service at Hamilton General Hospital. In due course he became chief there, as well as staff anaesthetist at St. Joseph's Hospital and at the Hamilton Sanitarium. He also served as chairman of the Medical Board of the General and, in 1932 and 1933, president of the Hamilton Academy of Medicine.

War returned, and in 1940 Dr Warren was recalled to active service. During the next few years he commanded Chorley Park Military Hospital (from 1940 to 1943), No. 2 Canadian General Hospital (1943-1945), Camp Borden Military Hospital (1945-1946) and the DVA Hospital in Hamilton (1946-1947). He retired from military service with the rank of Colonel, and took up practice once again in Hamilton. From 1946 to 1964 he also served his city as Coroner.

Dr Warren was one of the first anaesthetists to be certified by the Royal College, and he was a Fellow, and later a member of the Board of Governors, of the International College of Anaesthetists. He was a member of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society and a Life Member of the Ontario Medical Association.

Dr Warren retired in 1964. He had given a lifetime of solid service to Canadian anaesthesia, and in practising his art according to the standards of the day he not only served his patients well but contributed to the improvement of standards of Canadian anaesthesia that took place in peace and war. Sir Andrew Macphail, a leader of the Canadian medical profession in Warren's day, said that "the remembrance of any life, rich and fresh, should not be lost to the world," and it is with this sentiment in mind that we remember Dr Warren's life and of so many of those of his colleagues who, though unknown to us, collectively smoothed the path for us to follow.


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1995 [ 42:4 / p358

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Donald A Warren


Dr Donald A. Warren
(1899-1971)


À mesure que les années passent et que les souvenirs de l’anesthésie et des anesthésistes du début du 20e siècle s’estompent en vagues réminiscences après plus d’un siècle d’histoire, il convient de nous remémorer le dévouement et le service de nos anciens collègues et prédécesseurs qui sombreraient autrement dans l’oubli en héros méconnus. L’un d’entre eux est le Dr Donald Warren, qui a consacré plus d’un demi-siècle de service à sa ville natale de Hamilton et plus d’une décennie de service militaire à son pays.

Le Dr Donald Warren est né à Hamilton en 1899 et y est décédé en 1971. Il a fait ses études dans les écoles publiques de Hamilton et à l’Université de Toronto et son internat à l’Hôpital Hamilton General avant de pratiquer pendant une courte période à Dunnville, en Ontario. Alors, au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il est entré au Régiment royal de Warwickshire au rang de médecin militaire. Il a reçu la Croix militaire pour bravoure. En 1918, il a été transféré au Corps médical de l’Armée canadienne.

La guerre terminée, le Dr Warren a décidé de pratiquer l’anesthésie dans sa ville natale. Afin de s’y préparer, il a suivi des formations dans les principaux centres de Cleveland, Toledo et Madison. Il est rentré à Hamilton en 1919 où, en collaboration avec le Dr William Cody, il a inauguré le service d’anesthésie de l’Hôpital Hamilton General. Par la suite, il est devenu chef du service ainsi qu’anesthésiste membre du personnel de l’Hôpital St. Joseph’s et du Sanatorium de Hamilton. Il a aussi présidé le Conseil médical de l’Hôpital et, en 1932 et 1933, l’Académie de médecine de Hamilton.

La guerre a refait son apparition et, en 1940, le Dr Warren a été rappelé en service actif. Au cours des quelques années qui ont suivi, il a commandé l’Hôpital militaire Chorley Park (de 1940 à 1943), l’Hôpital général canadien no 2 (1943-1945), l’Hôpital militaire Camp Borden (1945-1946) et l’Hôpital du MAC de Hamilton (1946-1947). Il a pris sa retraite du service militaire au rang de colonel et a de nouveau repris sa pratique à Hamilton. De 1946 à 1964, il a également été au service de sa ville au poste de coroner.

Le Dr Warren a été l’un des premiers anesthésistes à recevoir sa certification du Collège royal, et il a été associé et plus tard membre du Conseil des gouverneurs du Collège international des anesthésistes. Il a été membre de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes et membre à vie de l’Association médicale de l’Ontario.

Le Dr Warren a pris sa retraite en 1964. Il a consacré sa vie au service de l’anesthésie au Canada et en pratiquant son art selon les normes de l’époque, il a non seulement bien servi ses patients, mais aussi contribué à l’amélioration des normes de l’anesthésie au Canada en temps de paix comme en temps de guerre. Sir Andrew Macphail, chef de file de la profession médicale canadienne à l’époque du Dr Warren, a affirmé que « la mémoire de toute vie, riche et intense, ne devait pas sombrer dans l’oubli » et c’est avec ce sentiment que nous honorons la vie du Dr Warren et celle de bon nombre de ses collègues qui, même s’ils nous sont inconnus, ont collectivement pavé la voie que nous suivons.


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1995 [ 42:4 / p358

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA