Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Harry James Shields


Dr Harry James Shields
(1887-1973)


Between the two world wars there was a generation of anaesthetists who laid the basis not only of sound clinical practice but also of academic and organized anaesthesia in Canada. One of these was Harry James Shields, a much loved and respected Toronto physician.

Harry Shields was a native and lifelong resident of Toronto. Following his schooling in Markham, Ontario, he enrolled in the University of Toronto, graduating with the B.A. in 1909. Medical studies at the University led to the M.B. in 1911. He then interned in New York and returned to Toronto to take up general practice. In 1914, because of his interest in anaesthesia, he was appointed Assistant in the department of anaesthesia at Toronto General Hospital – where, except for the war years, he spent the rest of his career until he retired in 1960.

With the advent of war Shields promptly joined the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps, soon being appointed Anaesthetist to No.4 (University of Toronto) Canadian General Hospital. His war years were spent in Salonika (1915-17) and England (1917-19). In Salonika, after anaesthetizing King Peter of Serbia, he was awarded the Order of St. Sava; in England, after courting Cecil Oatman, he married. He and his wife had two children.

Military service matured Shields, who brought back to Canada not only new anaesthetic techniques (e.g., tracheal intubation) but also strong administrative skills. On his return to Toronto in 1920 – the year the Canadian Society of Anaesthetists was founded – he became one of the first to practice anaesthesia full time. Shields soon came to earn the respect of his colleagues and, after Dr Samuel Johnston resigned the chairmanship of the Toronto department in 1935, he took over. As chairman until 1953 he provided a link between those anaesthetists who, like himself, strengthened Canadian anaesthesia after the first world war and those who did so after the second.

In his four-decade career Shields made important contributions to the development of Canadian anaesthesia. First, as head of the university department in Toronto, he established the first residency programme in Canada and did much to foster postgraduate education in anaesthesia in Canada. Second, by lecturing and publishing on a variety of anaesthetic topics, including clinical management, teaching and the history of Canadian anaesthesia, he kept anaesthetists informed on advances in anaesthesia. Next, through his close relationship to prominent American anaesthesiologists – Shields was a founding member of the select Anaesthetists’ Travel Club – he was one of that group of dedicated and enthusiastic physicians who, in sharing knowledge and ideas, greatly advanced the development of anaesthesia as a medical specialty in North America. As well as enhancing the standards of clinical practice and teaching, he did much for organized anaesthesia in Canada: he was a member of the Canadian Society of Anaesthetists in 1920, chairman of the Section of Anaesthesia of the Canadian Medical Association, chairman also of the Section of Anaesthesia of the Toronto Academy of Medicine, and he was a founding member of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society, of which he was elected President in 1949. His contributions were recognized by his colleague in 1962, when the Society awarded him its Gold Medal.

Harry Shields practised at a time when Canadian anaesthetists enjoyed close relationships with anaesthetists in the United States and the United Kingdom. His vice­ presidency of the American Society of Anesthesiologists in 1948 indicated his reputation in the United States; his election as a Fellow of the Faculty of Anaesthetists of the Royal College of Surgeons in the same year reflected his standing in England.

In Canada itself, the quintessence of the dedicated anaesthetist resided in Harry Shields. It is good that his name is perpetuated in an Annual Lecture perpetuated in the University of Toronto, so that it can be remembered and appreciated by those who follow in his footsteps.


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CANJ ANAESTH 1994 / 41:3 / p261

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Harry James Shield


Dr Harry James Shields
(1887-1973)


Entre les deux guerres mondiales, une génération d’anesthésiste a non seulement jeté les bases de solides pratiques cliniques, mais aussi celles de l’anesthésie universitaire et de l’organisation de l’anesthésie au Canada. L’un d’entre eux était Harry James Shields, un médecin de Toronto très apprécié et respecté.

Le Dr Harry Shields est natif de Toronto où il a vécu toute sa vie. Après des études à Markham, en Ontario, il s’est inscrit à l’Université de Toronto et a obtenu son BA en 1909. Il a fait ses études de médecine à la même université, pour obtenir son MB en 1911. Il a ensuite fait son internat à New York et est rentré à Toronto pour pratiquer la médecine générale. En 1914, à cause de son intérêt pour l’anesthésie, il a été nommé assistant au Département d’anesthésie de l’Hôpital Toronto General où, à l’exception des années de guerre, il a passé tout le reste de sa carrière jusqu’à sa retraite en 1960.

Au début de la guerre, le Dr Shields est rapidement entré au Corps médical militaire royal du Canada et peu de temps après, il a été affecté à l’Hôpital général canadien no 4 (Université de Toronto). Il a passé ses années de guerre à Salonika (1915-1917) et en Angleterre (1917-1919). À Salonika, après avoir anesthésié le roi Pierre de Serbie, il a été décoré de l’Ordre royal de Saint-Sava; en Angleterre, il a courtisé Cecil Oatman qui a accepté de l’épouser. Ils ont deux enfants.

Le service militaire a mûri le Dr Shields qui a rapporté au Canada non seulement de nouvelles techniques d’anesthésie (p. ex., l’intubation trachéale), mais aussi de solides compétences en administration. À son retour à Toronto en 1920, année de fondation de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes, il a été l’un des premiers à pratiquer l’anesthésie à temps plein. Le Dr Shields a rapidement mérité le respect de ses collègues et, après la démission du Dr Samuel Johnston de la présidence du département de Toronto en 1935, il a pris la relève. Il a occupé le poste de président jusqu’en 1953 et à ce titre, il a servi de lien entre les anesthésistes qui, tout comme lui, avaient renforcé l’anesthésie au Canada après la Première Guerre mondiale et ceux qui l’ont fait après la Seconde.

Au cours de sa carrière de quatre décennies, le Dr Shields a fait d’importantes contributions au développement de l’anesthésie au Canada. Tout d’abord, en qualité de président du Département d’anesthésie de l’Université de Toronto, il a établi le premier programme de résidence au Canada et a fait beaucoup pour favoriser la formation postdoctorale en anesthésie au pays. Ensuite, en donnant des conférences et en publiant des articles portant sur une grande variété de sujets en anesthésie, y compris la gestion clinique, l’enseignement et l’histoire de l’anesthésie au Canada, il a informé les anesthésistes des avancées dans la spécialité. De plus, par le biais de ses relations étroites avec d’éminents anesthésiologistes américains – le Dr Shields a été l’un des membres fondateurs du sélect Anesthetists’ Travel Club – il comptait parmi ces médecins dévoués et enthousiastes qui, en partageant leurs connaissances et leurs idées, ont grandement contribué à l’évolution de l’anesthésie comme spécialité médicale en Amérique du Nord. En plus d’avoir contribué à l’amélioration des normes de la pratique clinique et de l’enseignement, le Dr Shields a fait beaucoup pour l’organisation de l’anesthésie au Canada : il a été membre de la Société des anesthésistes du Canada en 1920, président de la Section d’anesthésie de l’Association médicale canadienne ainsi que président de la Section d’anesthésie de l’Académie de médecine de Toronto, et il a été membre fondateur de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes dont il a été élu président en 1949. Ses contributions ont été reconnues par ses collègues en 1962 lorsqu’il s’est vu décerner la Médaille d’or de la Société.

Le Dr Harry Shields a pratiqué à une époque où les anesthésistes canadiens entretenaient des relations étroites avec des anesthésistes aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni. Son mandat à la vice-présidence à la Société américaine des anesthésiologistes en 1948 témoigne de sa réputation aux États-Unis et son élection à titre d’associé de la Faculté des anesthésistes du Collège royal des chirurgiens au cours de la même année témoigne de sa renommée en Angleterre.

Au Canada, le Dr Harry Shields incarne la quintessence de l’anesthésiste dévoué. Il est bon que l’Université de Toronto ait donné son nom à une Conférence annuelle afin que ceux et celles qui suivent ses traces puissent l’honorer et l’apprécier.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CANJ ANAESTH 1994 / 41:3 / p261

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA