Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr John Albert Blezard


Dr John Albert Blezard
(1888-1971)


Born in 1888 in Warkworth, Ontario, John Albert Blezard was one of a small group of physicians whose commitment stimulated the development of Canadian anaesthesia in the formative period between the two world wars. Though by nature conservative in his own practice of the art of anaesthesia, he was open enough to recognize the need for research and to encourage the use of new drugs and techniques by those whom he taught. Well trained according to the standards of his own day after graduating from Queen's University in 1914, interning in New York before taking up general practice, and then practising anaesthesia in the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps in World War I – he judged his teaching to be successful when his students became more accomplished than himself. A man of few words but of wide vision, John Blezard provided kind and wise leadership as an academic anaesthetist, first in Edmonton (from 1920-37) and then in London (from 1937-58).

Blezard's career in anaesthesia began in 1916, when he was appointed to the Canadian Army Hospitals in England, where he also served with the British Army Hospitals. From 1917 to 1919 he continued as an anaesthetist with the Canadian Field Ambulance in France. Like many other Canadian anaesthetists of this era, he learned anaesthesia primarily by practising it and also by observing it practised by experienced British anaesthetists in the crucible of war. Blezard was one of those who thrived under these circumstances, honing his skills because of the sheer need to do so as an army anaesthetist. Back in Canada after the war, he continued to keep himself informed about current progress in anaesthesia. Thus, in London he enjoyed being the first there to intubate the trachea under direct vision, and the first to use cyclopropane and, later, muscle relaxants. His two goals were to provide quality anaesthesia to his patients and to teach his students as well as he knew how.

Of great value to Blezard was his membership in the Anaesthetists’ Travel Club. Joining this select group when it was founded in 1929, he came to share knowledge and ideas about new developments in anaesthesia with leading American anaesthesiologists, particularly J.S. Lundy, A.E. Guedel and R.M. Waters. So he was able to take back to Edmonton and Western Canada information about new agents such as cyclopropane and sodium thiopentone. His association with these leaders of anaesthesia and with fellow Canadian members, especially Harry Shields and William Easson Brown of Toronto and Wesley Bourne and Harold Griffith of Montreal – convinced him that the specialty of anaesthesia should develop independently. It must have given him satisfaction to see markers of this development in his own career: the approval of Certification by the Royal College in 1942, the founding of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society in 1943, the creation of an independent department of anaesthesia at the University of Western Ontario in 1949, and the introduction of the Fellowship in Anaesthesia by the Royal College in 1951.

Blezard, the flrst head of anaesthesia at Western Ontario, resigned from the chairmanship in 1958. He left behind him a basis for others to build on. Although the foundations of a sound building are seldom seen and too often taken for granted, it must be laid carefully without haste. John Albert Blezard was one of those pioneers whose time spent in building a foundation for others to build on was time well spent..


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1994 / 41:2 / p 156

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr John Albert Blezard


Dr John Albert Blezard
(1888-1971)


Né en 1888 à Warkworth, en Ontario, John Albert Blezard a fait partie d’un petit groupe de médecins dont le dévouement a stimulé le développement de l’anesthésie au Canada pendant la période déterminante de l’entre-deux-guerres. Quoiqu’il ait été conservateur dans sa propre pratique de l’art de l’anesthésie, il était suffisamment ouvert d’esprit pour reconnaître la nécessité de la recherche et pour encourager ses étudiants à utiliser de nouveaux médicaments et de nouvelles techniques. Selon les normes de l’époque, le Dr Blezard avait reçu une bonne formation : il avait obtenu son diplôme de l’Université Queen’s en 1914, fait son internat à New York avant de pratiquer comme généraliste puis pratiqué l’anesthésie au sein du Corps médical militaire royal du Canada pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Il a jugé son enseignement réussi lorsque ses étudiants sont devenus plus accomplis que lui. Homme peu loquace, mais d’une grande vision, le Dr John Blezard a assuré un leadership bienveillant et généreux en tant qu’anesthésiste universitaire, tout d’abord à Edmonton (de 1920 à 1937) et ensuite à London (de 1937 à 1958).

La carrière d’anesthésiste du Dr Blezard a débuté en 1916 lorsqu’il a été affecté aux hôpitaux de l’Armée canadienne en Angleterre, où il a aussi servi dans les hôpitaux de l’Armée britannique. De 1917 à 1919, il a poursuivi son travail d’anesthésiste auprès des ambulances de campagne canadiennes en France. Comme de nombreux autres anesthésistes canadiens de cette époque, il a appris l’anesthésie en la pratiquant et aussi en observant les anesthésistes britanniques expérimentés, dans le creuset de la guerre. Le Dr Blezard était de ceux qui excellent dans ces circonstances, affinant ses compétences par la simple nécessité de son travail d’anesthésiste militaire. De retour au Canada après la guerre, il a continué de se tenir au fait des progrès en anesthésie. Ainsi, à London, il a aimé être le premier à effectuer une intubation de la trachée sous vision directe, le premier à utiliser le cyclopropane et, plus tard, les myorelaxants. Ses deux objectifs étaient de fournir à ses patients des soins de qualité en anesthésie et d’enseigner à ses étudiants dans la pleine mesure de ses capacités.

Son adhésion au Anesthetists’ Travel Club a été pour lui d’une valeur inestimable. En se joignant à ce groupe sélect au moment de sa fondation en 1929, il a pu échanger des connaissances et des idées au sujet de nouveaux développements en anesthésie avec d’éminents anesthésiologistes américains, plus particulièrement avec J.S. Lundy, A.E. Guedel et R.M. Waters. Il a donc pu ramener à Edmonton et dans l’Ouest canadien des informations sur les nouveaux agents anesthésiques tels que le cyclopropane et le thiopental sodique. Son association avec ces chefs de file en anesthésie et avec d’autres membres canadiens, principalement avec Harry Shields et William Easson de Toronto et Wesley Bourne et Harold Griffith de Montréal – l’a convaincu que la spécialité de l’anesthésie devrait se développer de façon indépendante. Il a dû tirer beaucoup de satisfaction de pouvoir constater les jalons de ce développement au cours de sa propre carrière : l’approbation de la certification en anesthésie par le Collège royal en 1942, la fondation de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes en 1943, la création d’un département d’anesthésie indépendant à l’Université Western Ontario en 1949 et la création du titre d’associé en anesthésie par le Collège royal en 1951.

Le Dr Blezard, premier chef du Département d’anesthésie à l’Université Western Ontario, a démissionné de la présidence en 1958. Il a laissé derrière lui une base solide sur laquelle d’autres ont pu bâtir. Même si les fondations d’un édifice solide sont rarement apparentes et trop souvent prises pour acquises, elles doivent être mises en place soigneusement et sans précipitation. Le Dr John Albert Blezard était l’un de ces pionniers qui ont bien investi leur temps en le consacrant à bâtir des fondations afin que d’autres puissent ériger la construction.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Saskatoon
CAN J ANAESTH 1994 / 41:2 / p 156

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA