Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Morton Leigh


Dr Morton Digby Leigh
(1904-1975)


Dr Morton Digby Leigh has been acclaimed as the 'Father of Paediatric Anaesthesia' in Canada. He made his important contributions at a time when a number of pioneering physicians had established the specialty, but most anesthetics were administered by untrained general practitioners, pediatricians or nurses. Although adult anesthesia was slowly evolving, few gave special considerations to dealing with children. In 1938, Dr Leigh joined Drs Wesley Bourne and Harold Randall Griffith in Montreal as the third, and youngest, member of the 'Great Triumvirate' of Canadian anesthesia. This group made an enormous impact on the future directions of the specialty: as a result of their dedication to clinical service, teaching and research, in the organization of professional societies, and by their publications in the specialty journals. They responded to the increased role for anesthesia in the wartime period and the need for a dramatic expansion of clinical services which followed. Throughout, Dr Leigh dedicated his career to the pursuit of the professionalism of anesthesia and gaining recognition for the sub-specialty of pediatric anesthesia.

Dr Leigh was born in Jersey, in the Channel Islands, on September 23, 1904. He grew up in British Columbia, Canada and obtained his baccalaureate from the University of British Columbia in 1927. He graduated in medicine at McGill University, Montreal, in 1932, and later became certified in Anesthesia by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. He was honoured with certification as a Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology in 1942, and Fellow of the Faculty of Anaesthetists, Royal College of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland in 1950. After graduation, Dr Leigh spent two years as an internist at Montreal General Hospital and began specialty training in pediatric surgery at the Children's Memorial Hospital in Montreal. For a time, Dr Leigh established a general practice in the city, but was encouraged by Dr Wesley Bourne to train in anesthesia. As a result, he went to the University of Wisconsin in 1936 for three years' anesthesia residency under the tutelage of Dr Ralph Waters.

In 1939 he returned to Montreal as a Research Fellow in Pharmacology before becoming the Anaesthetist-in-Chief at the Children's Memorial Hospital in 1940, when his predecessor, Dr HP Mitchell joined the armed forces. The newly appointed thoracic surgeon, Dr Graham Ross, was gaining an international reputation and insisted on having a well trained pediatric anesthetist. In Dr Leigh, he found someone who catalyzed the clinical, educational and research activities of the department. The safe use of spinal and local anesthetic techniques in children were reported, and Dr Leigh devised a non-rebreathing valve for pediatric use which remained popular for many years. It was adapted by his successors several times, and became known as the Stephen-Slater valve. Dr Leigh's individual style of teaching pediatric anesthesia was cajoling, humorous and provocative: delivered in a characteristic nasal twang and gaining him a formidable reputation as a teacher. He was responsible for instituting teaching programs to provide instruction in clinical anesthesia for McGill undergraduates, interns and clinical fellows.

In 1940, a two year course for theoretical and practical instruction in anesthesia, directed by Drs Bourne and Leigh and based at St Mary's and Children's Memorial Hospitals, was introduced. This was for graduates with at least one year of internship and "for those who wish to specialize in the rapidly expanding field". Dr Leigh later wrote to the librarian of the Wood Library Museum that "My first resident was sent by McGill University. Once a week this lone resident and I held a meeting to discuss our interesting cases. I invited other residents from the other hospitals to join us and some came.......about 1943, when the Canadian Navy, Army and Air Force decided to send physicians for training in anesthesia, I fortunately had the opportunity of developing a three-month training course.......each resident rotated about the different hospitals for a couple of weeks. The group expanded, so the Ciba Company was persuaded to let us use its lecture hall in the building downtown. Interesting cases were presented from all over Montreal. Dr Griffith then joined Dr Bourne and me. Anaesthetists from all parts of Canada came for longer periods of training and a three year Diploma Course was formed. Since we were not recognized by McGill University, Drs Bourne, and I formed the Montreal College of Anesthesia...." The meetings provided a forum for French and English speaking anaesthetists to meet regularly, and established the approach which McGill still takes to its continuing medical education lecture series. The wartime training for specialists in anesthesia developed into the three year diploma course in 1945, and this has remained the model for residency programs for the last fifty years.

Dr Leigh was an active member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. He talked on 'Acidosis in anesthesia' at the society's annual meeting, held in Montreal in 1941, and became chairman of its committee on anesthetic films in 1946. The Montreal Society of Anesthetists elected Dr Leigh as Secretary-Treasurer of the Executive Committee in 1941, and he joined Drs Cousineau, Rochette, Wesley Bourne and Harold Griffith as a founding member of the Canadian Anaesthetist's Society in 1943.

Notwithstanding his stature and success in Montreal, Dr Leigh could not resist the career challenge of a move back West. In 1947 he returned to Vancouver as Director of Anesthesia at Vancouver General Hospital and Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery. His mandate was to reorganize the department with new equipment, introduce modern anesthetic techniques, and provide qualified clinicians and teachers to meet the fast paced developments in anesthesia. Also, a postgraduate training program had to be developed in preparation for the specialist examinations of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Plans for a new medical school necessitated addressing the needs of the medical student curriculum. His close collaborator, Dr Kay Belton, moved with him, and physicians who had taken the McGill anesthesia course while serving in the armed forces returned as specialists to staff his department. Two of the first graduates of the McGill diploma course in 1948, Drs DH McIntyre E Webb, also joined the staff in Vancouver.

Dr Leigh organized the University Department of Anesthesia from the existing clinical departments at Vancouver General Hospital and the Infants' and Children's Hospitals. Endotracheal intubation, muscle relaxants and spinal anesthesia had seldom been used and most relied on open mask ether, sometimes intravenous thiopentone for induction, Boyle Davis gag for tonsillectomies, avertin for neurosurgery and cyclopropane for thoracic anesthesia. He quickly replaced old anesthesia equipment in the nineteen anesthesia locations throughout the hospital, opened a recovery room and encouraged the introduction of updated anesthetic techniques. Dr Leigh greatly improved the standards of clinical care and began the medical student and residency training programs which continue today.

In 1948, Dr Leigh and his co-author, Kay Belton, published "Pediatric Anesthesiology", the first textbook devoted to the problems of anesthesia in children. In Current Researches in Anesthesia and Analgesia Dr JJ Carroll and he described the "Organization of a department of anesthesiology in a large teaching hospital" in 1949, and "The private group practice of anesthesiology" in 1953. However, after seven years in Vancouver, Dr Leigh became disillusioned about his academic prospects and had not achieved his personal goal to create a separate department of anesthesia. Consequently, in 1954, he accepted an offer from Los Angeles to become Director of Anesthesia at the Children's Hospital and Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Southern California. He returned to full time pediatric anesthesia practice and continued making contributions to the pediatric literature. He authored at least forty publications on pediatric anesthesia topics such as endotracheal anesthesia with avertin for cleft palate surgery, and bradycardia following succinylcholine in children before his retirement in 1970.

Dr Leigh was the leader of a small cadre of Canadian physicians who made pediatric anesthesia both an art and a science. In his latter years he became seriously ill and died of cancer in Palm Springs on September 5, 1975.


Joan C Bevan, MD
Toronto, ON

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Dr Morton Leigh


Dr Morton Digby Leigh
(1904-1975)


Le Dr Morton Digby Leigh a été acclamé comme le « père de l’anesthésie pédiatrique » au Canada. Il a apporté ses contributions importantes à une époque où des médecins pionniers avaient créé la spécialité, mais où la plupart des anesthésiques étaient administrés par des omnipraticiens, des pédiatres et des infirmières sans formation spéciale. Alors que l’anesthésie pour adultes évoluait lentement, le traitement des enfants attirait peu d’attention spéciale. En 1938, le Dr Leigh s’est joint aux Drs Wesley Bourne et Harold Randall Griffith à Montréal à titre de troisième et plus jeune membre du « Grand Triumvirat » de l’anesthésie canadienne. Ce groupe a eu un effet important sur les orientations futures de la spécialité, grâce à son dévouement aux services cliniques, à l’enseignement, à la recherche et à l’organisation des sociétés professionnelles, et par ses publications dans les journaux spécialisés. Les trois médecins ont répondu à la demande d’un rôle accru pour l’anesthésie en période de guerre et au besoin d’expansion spectaculaire des services cliniques qui s’en est suivi. Le Dr Leigh a toujours voué sa carrière à la recherche du professionnalisme en anesthésie et à la reconnaissance de la surspécialité que constitue l’anesthésie pédiatrique.

Né à Jersey, dans les îles de la Manche, le 23 septembre 1904, le Dr Leigh a grandi en Colombie-Britannique, au Canada, et a obtenu son baccalauréat de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 1927. Il a terminé ses études en médecine à l’Université McGill de Montréal en 1932 et a obtenu par la suite un certificat en anesthésie du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Il a reçu le certificat de diplômé de l’American Board of Anesthesiology en 1942 et a été fait membre du corps professoral des anesthésistes du Royal College of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland en 1950. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, le Dr Leigh a passé deux ans comme interniste à l’Hôpital général de Montréal et a entrepris une formation spécialisée en chirurgie pédiatrique à l’Hôpital commémoratif de Montréal pour enfants. Le Dr Leigh a dirigé un cabinet de médecine générale dans la ville pendant quelque temps, mais le Dr Wesley Bourne l’a encouragé à suivre une formation en anesthésie. Il s’est donc inscrit à l’Université du Wisconsin en 1936 pour y effectuer une résidence de trois ans en anesthésie sous la direction du Dr Ralph Waters.

En 1939, il est revenu à Montréal comme boursier chercheur en pharmacologie avant de devenir anesthésiste en chef à l’Hôpital commémoratif pour enfants en 1940, lorsque son prédécesseur, le Dr H.P. Mitchell, est entré dans les forces armées. Le nouveau chirurgien thoracique, le Dr Graham Ross, était de plus en plus reconnu sur la scène internationale et a insisté pour avoir un anesthésiste en pédiatrie qui avait reçu une solide formation. Il a trouvé dans le Dr Leigh quelqu’un qui a catalysé les activités cliniques, éducatives et de recherche du département. Des rapports ont porté sur l’utilisation sécuritaire des techniques d’anesthésie rachidienne et locale chez les enfants et le Dr Leigh a conçu une valve sans réinspiration pour usage en pédiatrie qui est demeurée populaire pendant des années. Ses successeurs l’ont adaptée à plusieurs reprises et le dispositif a reçu l’appellation valve de Stephen-Slater. Le style particulier d’enseignement de l’anesthésie pédiatrique pratiqué par le Dr Leigh consistait à cajoler, à pratiquer l’humour et à provoquer, le tout présenté avec son accent nasillard caractéristique. Il a rapidement acquis une formidable réputation d’enseignant. Il est à l’origine de la création de programmes d’enseignement en anesthésie clinique à l’intention des étudiants du premier cycle, des internes et des chercheurs cliniciens de McGill.

En 1940, on a lancé un cours de formation théorique et pratique en anesthésie d’une durée de deux ans dirigé par les Drs Bourne et Leigh et offert à l’Hôpital St. Mary's et à l’Hôpital commémoratif pour enfants. Le cours s’adressait aux diplômés qui avaient fait au moins un an d’internat et « à ceux qui veulent se spécialiser dans cette discipline en expansion rapide ». Le Dr Leigh a écrit par la suite au bibliothécaire du Musée de la Bibliothèque Wood : « Mon premier résident m’a été envoyé par l’Université McGill. Une fois par semaine, ce seul résident et moi-même tenions une réunion pour discuter de nos cas intéressants. J’ai invité d’autres résidents des autres hôpitaux à se joindre à nous et certains sont venus… Vers 1943, lorsque la Marine, l’Armée de terre et l’Armée de l’air canadiennes ont décidé d’envoyer des médecins suivre une formation en anesthésie, j’ai eu la chance de créer un cours de formation de trois mois… Chaque résident effectuait un stage de deux ou trois semaines dans les différents hôpitaux. Le groupe a augmenté et on a alors persuadé la compagnie Ciba de nous laisser utiliser sa salle de conférence de l’édifice du centre-ville. On y présentait des cas intéressants de partout à Montréal. Le Dr Griffith s’est ensuite joint au Dr Bourne et à moi-même. Des anesthésistes de toutes les régions du Canada sont venus suivre des formations de plus longue durée et on a mis sur pied un cours de trois ans menant au diplôme. Comme l’Université McGill ne nous reconnaissait pas, le Dr Bourne et moi-même avons créé le Collège d’anesthésie de Montréal… » Les réunions offraient aux anesthésistes de langue française et de langue anglaise une tribune où ils pouvaient se réunir périodiquement pour déterminer l’approche que McGill suit toujours pour sa série de conférences en éducation médicale continue. La formation en temps de guerre de spécialistes en anesthésie est devenue le cours de trois ans menant à un diplôme en 1945, qui demeure le modèle des programmes de résidence depuis 50 ans.

Le Dr Leigh était membre actif de l’American Society of Anesthesiologists. Il a prononcé une conférence sur « L’acidose en anesthésie » au cours de l’assemblée annuelle de la Société à Montréal en 1941 et est devenu président de son comité des films d’anesthésie en 1946. La Société des anesthésistes de Montréal a élu le Dr Leigh au poste de secrétaire-trésorier du Comité de direction en 1941 et il s’est joint aux Drs Cousineau, Rochette, Wesley Bourne et Harold Griffith comme membre fondateur de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes en 1943.

Malgré sa réputation et le succès qu’il connaissait à Montréal, le Dr Leigh n’a pu résister au défi que lui présentait un retour dans l’Ouest. En 1947, il est retourné à Vancouver comme directeur de l’anesthésie à l’Hôpital Vancouver General et professeur agrégé clinicien au Département de chirurgie. Il devait réorganiser le département avec de l’équipement neuf, implanter des techniques d’anesthésie modernes et former des cliniciens et des enseignants qualifiés afin de répondre à l’évolution rapide de l’anesthésie. Il fallait aussi mettre sur pied un programme de formation postdoctorale en prévision des examens de spécialiste du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Les plans de création d’une nouvelle faculté de médecine ont obligé à répondre aux besoins du programme d’études des étudiants en médecine. Sa proche collaboratrice, la Dre Kay Belton, a déménagé avec lui et des médecins qui avaient suivi le cours d’anesthésie de McGill pendant qu’ils servaient dans les forces armées sont venus se greffer au personnel du département comme spécialistes. Deux des premiers diplômés du cours de McGill en 1948, les Drs D.H. McIntyre et E. Webb, se sont aussi joints au personnel à Vancouver.

Le Dr Leigh a organisé le Département d’anesthésie de l’Université à partir des départements cliniques existants à l’Hôpital Vancouver General et aux hôpitaux Infants' and Children's. L’intubation endotrachéenne, les relaxants musculaires et l’anesthésie rachidienne avaient rarement été utilisés et la plupart des anesthésies se faisaient à l’éther par masque ouvert, parfois au thiopentone par voie intraveineuse pour l’induction, avec l’ouvre-bouche de Boyle Davis pour les amygdalectomies, l’avertin pour la neurochirurgie et le cyclopropane pour l’anesthésie thoracique. Il a remplacé rapidement l’équipement d’anesthésie désuet des dix-neuf points d’anesthésie de l’hôpital, ouvert une salle de réveil et encouragé l’implantation de techniques d’anesthésie mises à jour. Le Dr Leigh a amélioré considérablement les normes de soins cliniques et a lancé des programmes de formation des étudiants en médecine et des médecins résidents qui existent toujours.

En 1948, le Dr Leigh et sa coauteure, Kay Belton, ont publié « Pediatric Anesthesiology », premier manuel consacré aux problèmes de l’anesthésie chez les enfants. Dans Current Researches in Anesthesia and Analgesia, le Dr J.J. Carroll et lui ont décrit « L’organisation d’un département d’anesthésiologie dans un grand hôpital universitaire » en 1949 et « La pratique de l’anesthésiologie en groupe privé » en 1953. Après sept ans à Vancouver, le Dr Leigh est toutefois devenu déçu de ses perspectives universitaires et n’avait pas atteint son objectif personnel qui était la création d’un département d’anesthésie distinct. C’est pourquoi il a accepté, en 1954, une offre de Los Angeles pour devenir directeur de l’anesthésie au Children's Hospital et professeur d’anesthésiologie à l’Université de la Californie du Sud. Il est retourné en anesthésie pédiatrique à temps plein et a continué de contribuer aux publications en pédiatrie. À son départ à la retraite en 1970, il avait à son crédit au moins 40 publications sur des sujets en anesthésie pédiatrique, comme l’anesthésie endotrachéenne à l’avertin pour la chirurgie de la fosse palatine et la bradycardie suivant l’administration de succinylcholine chez les enfants.

Le Dr Leigh a été le chef de file d’un petit groupe de médecins canadiens qui ont fait de l’anesthésie pédiatrique à la fois un art et une science. Devenu gravement malade vers la fin de sa vie, il est mort du cancer à Palm Springs, le 5 septembre 1975.


Joan C. Bevan, MD
Toronto (Ont.)

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA