Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Nelson Nix


Dr Nelson Nix
(1915-2014)


Nelson Nix was born on July 23, 1915, in Edmonton, Alberta, where he was educated (at Oliver Public School, Victoria High School, and the University of Alberta) and, except for the war years, spent virtually all of his professional career. Well known in the city as a physician and anaesthetist, he was also respected as a citizen for his contributions to community activities.

Dr Nix's career in anaesthesia began when he graduated in May 1941, and became "the anaesthetist" for the Alberta Government Travelling Clinic. From May to August 1941 he gave no fewer than 532 anaesthetics where the province lacked hospitals, using only ethyl chloride and ether given by a hand-operated ether-air vaporiser and suction pump. This experience demonstrated to him the need for formal training, which he took at the Hamilton General Hospital. After enrolling in the Royal Canadian Army Medical Corps he served as an anaesthetist in the military hospital in Halifax.

In 1944 Nix was ordered to Europe. He welcomed the opportunity of serving in some of the best military hospitals, and learning from established and experienced anaesthetists. (As an aside, the long-term impact on training in anaesthesia in Canada by anaesthetists who had served in the armed forces must be enormous.) Nix soon served as a senior anaesthetist himself: at No.22 Canadian General Hospital in Haslemere in England, at No.2 Casualty Clearing Station on the Continent, and then at No.24 Canadian General Hospital back in England. He was demobilised in 1946, with the rank of Major.

Still only 30, Dr Nix returned to Canada early in 1946 to take up full-time anaesthesia back home. In the next 40 years he worked at the Royal Alexandra Hospital (from 1946 to 1983, and as Head from 1963), the Misericordia Hospital (1946-1956), the Charles Camsell Hospital (1946-1956) the Edmonton General Hospital (1947-1950), and the Aberhart Memorial Hospital (1948-1960). He practised in an era of many highly significant innovations. Thiopentone and curare had just been introduced, succinylcholine and other muscle relaxants and then a train of volatile inhalational agents followed. The post-anaesthesia recovery room and the intensive care unit became everyday parts of the anaesthetist's territory, and the use of ventilators and invasive techniques began to change the anaesthetist's practice profoundly. "It was gratifying," he wrote, to play even a small part in the flourishing development of such a significant, integral portion of that practice of medicine." Some of his experiences were: unique: his participation in the first heart valve operation and the first repair of coarctation of the aorta in Edmonton, and his collaboration with Dr Ernie Watts in anaesthetising conjoined twins, are examples. His work with poliomyelitis patients in 1953, when over 100 required continuous respiratory care, led to his co-authoring a book on the epidemic.

Dr Nix was an active member of his local medical community. He was Treasurer of the Edmonton Academy of Medicine (1955-1957), president of the Alberta branch of the Defence Medical Association (1953-1954) and Vice-President of the Canadian Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (1985-1988).

Dr Nix joined the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society in 1944, and is proud of his membership card, marked No.7, making him one of the most senior members of the Society. A founding member of the Alberta Division, he was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Division in 1948 and President in 1952. He spoke at the Annual Meeting in 1952 (on anaesthesia for cardiac surgery) and he authored a paper (on respiratory poliomyelitis) in the first issue of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society Journal in 1954. Dr Nix was also part of the group that developed the Alberta Committee on the Study of Perioperative Deaths, the first such committee to be formed in Canada.

Dr Nix was active in the wider Edmonton community. He took a prominent part in such diverse groups as the Family Service Bureau, the Rundle's Mission Conference Centre Board, the Community Chest, and the Robertson Wesley United Church. Nor must one forget that, as the husband of Amy, to whom he owes much, he was the father of no fewer than six children.

As a physician, as an anaesthetist, as a military doctor, as a citizen, and as a husband and father, Nelson Nix has led a most fruitful and satisfying life. He has set an example that can be admired.


David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, PEI
CAN J ANAESTH 1998 / 45:3 / pp 280

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Nelson Nix


Dr Nelson Nix
(1915-2014)


Nelson Nix est né le 23 juillet 1915 à Edmonton, en Alberta, où il a fait ses études (à l’école publique Oliver, à l’école secondaire Victoria et à l’Université de l’Alberta) et où, à l’exception des années de guerre, il a passé la presque totalité de sa vie professionnelle. Bien connu dans cette ville en tant que médecin et anesthésiste, il était aussi un citoyen respecté pour ses contributions aux activités communautaires.

La carrière du Dr Nix en anesthésie a débuté lorsqu’il a obtenu son diplôme en mai 1941 et est devenu « l’anesthésiste » de la Clinique itinérante du gouvernement de l’Alberta. De mai à août 1941, il a administré pas moins de 532 anesthésies dans des secteurs de la province dépourvus d’hôpitaux, en n’utilisant que le chlorure d’éthyle et l’éther administrés par vaporisateur éther-air actionné à la main et par pompe à succion. Cette expérience lui a démontré le besoin d’une formation structurée, qu’il a suivie à l’Hôpital Hamilton General. Après s’être engagé dans le Corps médical militaire royal du Canada, il a servi comme anesthésiste à l’hôpital militaire de Halifax.

En 1944 le Dr Nix a reçu l’ordre de se rendre en Europe. Il a accueilli l’occasion de servir dans certains des meilleurs hôpitaux militaires et d’apprendre auprès d’anesthésistes bien établis et expérimentés. (En passant, les répercussions à long terme sur la formation en anesthésie au Canada des anesthésistes ayant servi dans les forces armées doivent être considérables.) Le Dr Nix a rapidement servi lui-même en qualité d’anesthésiste principal : à l’Hôpital général canadien no 2 à Haslemere, en Angleterre, au Poste d’évacuation sanitaire no 2 sur le Continent et ensuite à l’Hôpital général canadien no 24, en Angleterre. Il a été démobilisé en 1946, au rang de major.

Âgé de seulement 30 ans, le Dr Nix est rentré au Canada au début de 1946 pour travailler en anesthésie à temps plein dans sa ville natale. Au cours des 40 années suivantes, il a travaillé à l’Hôpital Royal Alexandra (de 1946 à 1983, et à titre de chef du département dès 1963), à l’Hôpital Misericordia (1946-1956), à l’Hôpital Charles Camsell (1946-1956), à l’Hôpital Edmonton General (1947-1950) et à l’Hôpital Aberhart Memorial (1948-1960). Il a pratiqué à une époque qui a vu émerger de nombreuses innovations très importantes. On commençait à peine à utiliser le thiopentone et le curare; la succinylcholine et d’autres myorelaxants, puis toute une gamme d’agents d’inhalation volatils ont suivi. La salle de réveil après l’anesthésie et l’unité de soins intensifs sont devenues partie du domaine quotidien de l’anesthésiste et l’utilisation de respirateurs et de techniques invasives commencèrent à changer en profondeur la pratique de l’anesthésiste. « Il était gratifiant », a écrit le Dr Nix, « de pouvoir jouer ne serait-ce qu’un petit rôle dans l’épanouissement d’une partie aussi essentielle et fondamentale de cette pratique de la médecine ». Certaines de ses expériences ont été uniques, notamment sa participation à la première opération de remplacement de valvule cardiaque et à la première réparation d’une coarctation de l’aorte à Edmonton, et sa collaboration avec le Dr Ernie Watts à l’anesthésie de jumeaux siamois. Son travail auprès de patients atteints de poliomyélite en 1953, alors que plus de 100 patients avaient besoin de soins respiratoires continus, l’a mené à être coauteur d’un livre sur cette épidémie.

Le Dr Nix était un membre actif de sa communauté médicale locale. Il a été trésorier de l’Académie de médecine d’Edmonton (1955-1957), président de la division albertaine de l’Association médicale de la Défense du Canada (1953-1954) et vice-président des Médecins canadiens pour la prévention de la guerre nucléaire (1985-1988).

Le Dr Nix est devenu membre de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes en 1944 et il est fier de sa carte de membre qui indique le no 7, ce qui fait de lui l’un des membres de la Société ayant le plus d’ancienneté. Membre fondateur de la Division albertaine, il a été élu secrétaire-trésorier de la Division en 1948 et président en 1952. Il a prononcé une allocution au cours de l’Assemblée annuelle en 1952 (au sujet de l’anesthésie pour la chirurgie cardiaque) et il est l’auteur d’un article (sur la poliomyélite respiratoire) paru dans le premier numéro du journal de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes en 1954. Le Dr Nix faisait aussi partie d’un groupe qui a mis en place le Comité albertain pour l’étude des décès périopératoires, le premier comité de ce genre à être constitué au Canada.

Le Dr Nix a été actif dans la grande région d’Edmonton. Il a participé activement à des groupes divers tels que le Bureau des services à la famille, le Conseil du centre de conférences de la Mission Rundle, la Caisse d’épargne et l’Église Unie Robertson Wesley. Et il ne faut pas oublier qu’il était le mari d’Amy, à qui il doit beaucoup, et le père de pas moins de six enfants.

En tant que médecin, anesthésiste, médecin militaire, citoyen, mari et père, Nelson Nix a joui d’une vie productive et satisfaisante. Il a donné un exemple que l’on peut admirer.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
CAN J ANAESTH 1998 / 45:3 / pp 280

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA