Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Roméo Rochette


Dr Roméo Rochette
(1895-1958)


When the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society was founded in 1943, one of the two vice-presidents was Dr Roméo Rochette (the other was Dr Wesley Bourne). A native of Napierville, Quebec, Rochette, like his father and grandfather before him, chose medicine as a career, graduating in medicine at the Université de Montreal in 1922. He interned at the Hotel-Dieu, holding the post of chief intern from 1924 to 1926. He learned to give anaesthetics while he was an intern – there were no residencies in anaesthesia in those days – and in 1926 he was appointed Assistant in Anaesthesia. He remained at the Hotel-Dieu for the rest of his career, serving as head of the department from 1934 until his death on December 12, 1958, at the age of 63.

Such are the bare outlines of Rochette's career; they give no idea of his contributions to Canadian anaesthesia or of his personality. As an anaesthetist, by the time the Society was founded he had accumulated a wealth of experience and he kept himself au courant with modern knowledge and techniques. As an individual, he was ethically and morally above reproach, inherently distinguished and by upbringing a cultured man. The photograph by which we remember him is the portrait of a man who, while refined and reserved, was trustworthy and reliable. His advice was always listened to, and in the Society's formative years his counsel was much valued. He served the Society well as vice-president from 1943, when it was founded, to 1946.

In the late 1940s and the 1950s the Montreal scene was one of harmony, friendliness and cooperation, all of which fostered the serious interest in and concern for organized anaesthesia in Canada that the founders of the Society had in full measure. In that environment, with Rochette and Georges Cousineau among francophones and with Harold Griffith, Wesley Bourne and Digby Leigh among anglo­phones at the helm, the prospects for a national society, despite the clouds of war, looked good. These five individuals each brought their own strengths to bear on the task of nurturing the new Society. Rochette's were those of thoughtfulness as a colleague and of integrity as a physician; he inspired confidence in all who knew him and his counsel was greatly respected. In the Society's formative years these attributes were essential. Reserved and dignified, he gave much to the affairs of the Society, and what he gave during this period of growth was essential and invaluable.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, PEI
CAN J ANAESTH 1992 / 39:3 / p299

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Roméo Rochette


Dr Roméo Rochette
(1895-1958)


Lorsque la Société canadienne des anesthésistes a été fondée, en 1943, l’un des deux vice-présidents était le Dr Roméo Rochette (l’autre était le Dr Wesley Bourne). Natif de Napierville, au Québec, le Dr Rochette, comme son père et son grand-père avant lui, a choisi de faire carrière en médecine, obtenant son diplôme de médecine à l’Université de Montréal en 1922. Il a fait son internat à l’Hôtel-Dieu, où il a occupé le poste d’interne en chef de 1924 à 1926. Il a appris à administrer des anesthésiques au cours de son internat (il n’y avait pas de résidence en anesthésie à cette époque) et en 1926, il a été nommé adjoint en anesthésie. Il est demeuré à l’Hôtel-Dieu pendant le reste de sa carrière, à titre de chef du département, de 1934 jusqu’à son décès le 12 décembre 1958, à l’âge de 63 ans.

Telles sont les grandes lignes de la carrière du Dr Rochette; elles ne donnent aucune indication de ses contributions à l’anesthésie au Canada ou de sa personnalité. Comme anesthésiste, lorsque la Société a été fondée, il avait acquis une très grande expérience et s’était gardé au courant des connaissances et des techniques modernes. Comme personne, il était irréprochable sur le plan moral et éthique, d’une distinction innée et d’une grande culture en raison de son éducation. La photographie qui le rappelle à notre souvenir est le portrait d’un homme qui, tout en étant raffiné et réservé, était digne de confiance et fiable. Ses conseils étaient toujours mis en pratique et, au cours des années pendant lesquelles la Société s’est développée, son avis était très estimé. Il a siégé à la vice-présidence de la Société de 1943, année de sa fondation, jusqu’en 1946.

À la fin des années 1940 et dans les années 1950, la scène montréalaise était un lieu d’harmonie, d’amitié et de coopération, ce qui a favorisé une préoccupation et un intérêt sérieux, que les fondateurs de la Société possédaient en large mesure, envers l’organisation de l’anesthésie au Canada. Dans ce contexte, avec à la barre les Drs Rochette et Georges Cousineau chez les francophones et les Drs Harold Griffith, Wesley Bourne et Digby Leigh chez les anglophones, la perspective d’une société nationale était bonne, malgré les rumeurs d’une guerre. Ces cinq individus ont tous mis à profit leurs compétences pour favoriser l’épanouissement de la nouvelle Société. Celles du Dr Rochette étaient d’être un collègue prévenant et un médecin intègre; il inspirait confiance à tous ceux qui le connaissaient et son avis était très respecté. Au cours des années de développement de la Société, ces qualités étaient essentielles. Réservé et digne, il a beaucoup contribué aux affaires de la Société, et ses contributions au cours de cette période de croissance ont été essentielles et inestimables.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, PEI
CAN J ANAESTH 1992 / 39:3 / p.299

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA