Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Samuel Johnston


Dr Samuel Johnston
(1868-1946)


While the knowledge base of anaesthesia grows and is passed on in its literature, its traditions and its standards of practice are developed and upheld by individuals. Periodically one individual is identified with all that is best in anaesthesia; in Canada in the 1960s and 1950s it was Harold Griffith, in the 1940s it was Wesley Bourne, and in the 1930s and 1920s it was Samuel Johnston. Not for nothing was he recognized in this era as the Dean of Canadian Anaesthesia.

Johnston was born to Samuel and Elizabeth Johnston, hardy pioneers of Wellington County in Ontario, on May 12, 1868. After studying at schools in Erin and Guelph, he continued his education by taking lectures at Trinity College in Toronto while working in a law office. Neither the law then nor the ministry a little later appealed to him sufficiently, and he eventually chose medicine. He graduated from Trinity College in 1901, at the age of 32. He then interned at Toronto General Hospital, where his duties included the administration of ether and chloroform. He became adept as an anaesthetist, and in 1903 he and another ex-intern were asked to form an anaesthesia service at the hospital. In 1907 Johnston was appointed head of a new department of anaesthesia at the Toronto General. In the same year his teaching ability was recognized in his appointment as lecturer on anaesthesia at the University of Toronto. By now he was prac­tising anaesthesia full time, and, aware of the need to learn more about what was now becoming recognized as a specialty, Johnston spent some of 1910 visiting centres in England and France. He returned to Toronto as a bona fide specialist.

Always stressing the need to keep abreast of the times, Johnston carefully built up a strong department, and by the time he retired the department at his hospital had grown to comprise seven other physicians besides himself. All of his colleagues respected Dr. Sam for his kindness and understanding, for his leadership and for his skill as an anaesthetist. For the most part he was open to the use of a variety of techniques, and his department set the standard for the practice of anaesthesia in Canada in the period between the two world wars. Johnston's concern over explosions in Toronto caused by the use of ethyl chloride, however, led him to proscribe the clinical use of cyclopropane, which his fellow Torontonians Velyicn Henderson and George Lucas had developed, and so Toronto, and Canada, lost the claim of priority to introduction of this remarkable anaesthetic. (Johnston was also leery at first of spinal anaesthesia, which, the story goes, so disturbed a patient that, when no longer paralyzed, he fled to the safety of the hospital roof, from which vantage point he hurled bricks torn from the chimney at his supposed tormentors.) For the cautious professor sound and careful anaesthesia was always the primary concern, and the statement in one of his papers that "eternal vigilance is the price of safety" served as the secret of the art of anaesthesia that Johnston instilled into his colleagues and students.

In a period when the need for professionalism in the specialty was becoming evident, Johnston's qualities and high personal standards, both as an individual and as an anaesthetist, were highly valued. He became founding president of the Canadian Society of Anaesthetists in 1920, and, outside Canada, chairman of the Section of Anaesthesia of the British Medical Association in 1926. He recognized the contributions made to Canadian anaesthesia by American anaesthetists, and his presidency of the Associated Anesthetists of the United States and Canada gave him great pleasure. These positions he held as admirably as he did others in Toronto, where he was unusual as an anaesthetist in being elected president of the Toronto Academy of Medicine, and where he was also president of the Aesculapian Society, a dinner club. Johnston was the recipient of many accolades in his lifetime, and all of them befitted his position in anaesthesia. But by Canadian anaesthetists today he should be remembered for what he did to uphold the standards of anaesthesia, and for what he did to improve the practice of anaesthesia. For as he said once, "Little do the younger anaesthetists of today know of the difficulties overcome, in blazing the trail that has led to the 'asphalt' highway on which they are travelling."

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC
CAN J ANAESTH 1994 / 41:4 / p353

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Samuel Johnston


Dr Samuel Johnston
(1868-1946)


À mesure que la base du savoir en anesthésie s’élargit, elle est transmise par sa littérature, tandis que ses traditions et ses normes de pratique sont élaborées et maintenues par des individus. De temps en temps, une personne représente tout ce qu’il y a de meilleur en anesthésie; au Canada, dans les années 1960 et 1950, ce fut Harold Griffith, dans les années 1940, Wesley Bourne, et dans les années 1930 et 1920, Samuel Johnston. Ce n’est pas sans raison qu’il a été reconnu comme le doyen de l’anesthésie au Canada à cette époque.

Le Dr Johnston est né le 12 mai 1868, fils de Samuel et Elizabeth Johnston, de robustes pionniers du comté de Wellington, en Ontario. Après des études à Erin et à Guelph, il poursuit son éducation en suivant des cours au Collège Trinity de Toronto tout en travaillant dans un bureau d’avocats. À cette époque, le droit ne l’intéressait pas suffisamment ni, un peu plus tard, le sacerdoce. Il choisit finalement la médecine. Il a obtenu son diplôme du Collège Trinity en 1901, à l’âge de 32 ans. Il a ensuite fait un internat à l’Hôpital Toronto General, où ses fonctions consistaient notamment à administrer de l’éther et du chloroforme. Il devint habile en anesthésie et, en 1903, il fut invité, ainsi qu’un autre ancien interne, à former le service d’anesthésie de l’hôpital. En 1907, le Dr Johnston a été nommé chef du nouveau Département d’anesthésie de l’Hôpital Toronto General. La même année, ses compétences en enseignement ont été reconnues lorsqu’il s’est vu confier une tâche de chargé de cours à l’Université de Toronto. Il pratiquait déjà l’anesthésie à temps plein et, conscient de la nécessité d’en apprendre davantage dans un domaine qui commençait à être reconnu comme une spécialité, le Dr Johnston a consacré une partie de l’année 1910 à visiter des centres en Angleterre et en France. Il est rentré à Toronto étant devenu spécialiste en bonne et due forme.

Toujours conscient de l’importance de se tenir au courant des évolutions dans le domaine, le Dr Johnston a soigneusement bâti un département solide qui, au moment de sa retraite, s’était élargi et comprenait sept autres médecins. Le Dr Sam était respecté de tous ses collègues pour sa bonté et sa compréhension, pour son leadership et pour ses compétences en anesthésie. Le Dr Johnston était généralement ouvert à l’utilisation d’une variété de techniques et son département a établi la norme pour la pratique de l’anesthésie au Canada au cours de la période d’entre-deux-guerres. Toutefois, ses préoccupations au sujet d’explosions à Toronto causées par l’utilisation du chlorure d’éthyle l’ont mené à proscrire l’utilisation clinique du cyclopropane, mise au point par ses collègues torontois Velyicn Henderson et Georges Lucas. C’est ainsi que Toronto, et le Canada, n’ont pu revendiquer la première utilisation de cet anesthésique remarquable. (Le Dr Johnston s’est aussi montré méfiant au premier abord de l’anesthésie rachidienne qui, selon une anecdote, avait tellement perturbé un patient que celui-ci, lorsqu’il retrouva l’usage de ses jambes, s’était réfugié sur le toit de l’hôpital d’où il s’était mis à lancer des briques de la cheminée à ses prétendus bourreaux.) Pour ce professeur prudent, une anesthésie rigoureuse et attentive était toujours la préoccupation première et la déclaration qu’il a faite dans l’un de ses articles, à savoir que « l’éternelle vigilance est le prix à payer pour la sécurité », est devenue le secret de l’art de l’anesthésie que le Dr Johnston a inculqué à ses collègues et à ses étudiants.

À une époque où le besoin de professionnalisme dans la spécialité devenait évident, les qualités du Dr Johnston et ses normes personnelles élevées, aussi bien comme individu que comme anesthésiste, étaient très appréciées. Il est devenu président fondateur de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes en 1920 et, à l’extérieur du Canada, président de la section d’anesthésie de l’Association médicale britannique en 1926. Il a reconnu les contributions des anesthésistes américains à l’anesthésie au Canada et il a tiré un grand plaisir de sa présidence de l’Associated Anesthetists of the United States and Canada. Il a occupé ces postes aussi admirablement que d’autres à Toronto, où il avait été élu à la présidence de l’Académie de médecine, ce qui était inhabituel pour un anesthésiste, et où il a aussi présidé la Société d’Esculape, un club de dîner-conférence. Le Dr Johnston a reçu de nombreuses accolades au cours de sa vie, et elles convenaient toutes à la position qu’il occupait en anesthésie. Mais les anesthésistes canadiens d’aujourd’hui doivent se souvenir de lui pour ses contributions au maintien des normes en anesthésie et à l’amélioration de la pratique de l’anesthésie. Car, comme il l’avait un jour affirmé, « les jeunes anesthésistes d’aujourd’hui ne réalisent pas toutes les difficultés qui ont dû être surmontées pour tracer la voie de l’autoroute "asphaltée" qu’ils parcourent maintenant ».

David A.E. Shephard MB FRCPC
CAN J ANAESTH 1994 / 41:4 / p.353

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA