Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Stuart L. Vandewater


Dr Stuart L. Vandewater
(1924-2011)


Currently Emeritus Professor of Anaesthesia at Queen’s University in Kingston, in an expanding career Dr Stuart Vandewater made innumerable contributions to Canadian anesthesia and to administrative and organizational aspects of Canadian medicine. His career shows how an anesthesiologist can influence activities that are far removed from the operating room.

Born in Campbellford, Ontario, on November 16, 1924, Dr Vandewater and his wife Mary (née Baird), have two children, Steven Paul and Mary Leslie and two grandchildren. He was educated at Frankland Public School and Jarvis Collegiate Institute in Toronto and graduated from the University of Toronto in 1947. After a rotating internship at the Toronto General Hospital, Dr Vandewater joined the newly formalized Toronto anesthesia residency program under Dr Harry Shields, rotating through the various teaching hospitals. Additional training included his appointment as a registrar at the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary under Sir James Learmonth and Dr John Gillies (with emphasis on induced hypotension), a residency in internal medicine at Sunnybrook Medical Centre, and an R.S. McLaughlin Fellowship (in 1952-1953, the charter year) at Toronto General Hospital, concentrating on thoracic surgery with Dr F.G. Kergin. He became a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1953 and joined the Toronto faculty and staff, working at the Toronto General Hospital. While in Toronto he was, over the next seven years, a member of the team responsible for the introduction and use of hypothermia (and hypotension) in neurosurgery for cerebral aneurysms, with Dr Harry Botterell and Dr William Lougheed.

Dr Vandewater was appointed Professor and Head of the first Department of Anesthesiology at Queen’s University in 1960. Over the next three decades he was a participant and a witness in the maturation of the specialty into a professionally recognized, applauded and attractive medical discipline. The author or coauthor of many scientific articles, editorials and book chapters, many of his important contributions were made outside the operating room. These include those to medical education as well as the specialty of anesthesia in Canada through the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society (CAS), the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, Queen’s University and the Association of Canadian Medical Colleges.

Dr Vandewater contributed substantially to the development of anesthesia through the CAS, particularly in the expansive and exciting times of the 1960s and 1970s. As a member of several committees, the Society’s president for 1967-1968 and then its secretary from 1972 to 1977, he was close to the centre of many events that shaped the specialty as we know it today. He was a tower of strength in the drafting and acceptance of a new constitution for the Society, and he led the heads of departments in an association that evolved into the present Association of Canadian University Departments of Anaesthesia. He was active in the Royal College, being an examiner (1962-69), chair of the specialty committee (1968-80) and a member of the credentials committee (1976-82). He chaired other national and provincial anesthesia manpower committees, taking part in major multidisciplinary studies. Dr Vandewater subsequently became a certificant of the American Board of Anesthesiology and a Fellow of the Royal College of Anaesthesia, and the Canadian Society recognized the value of his contributions by awarding him its Gold Medal for Meritorious Services in 1981.

In the latter part of his active years at Queen’s, Dr Vandewater was Secretary to the Faculty of Medicine, Associate Dean for Postgraduate Affairs, Director of Continuing Education for Health Sciences, and the university’s representative on the Medical Council of Canada and the Council of The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. He ended his active career at Queen’s as the director of the university’s sesquicentennial celebrations, which included arranging an official visit of Charles and Diana, The Prince and Princess of Wales, in 1991 and 1992.

In medical education Dr Vandewater was the first chairman of the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (ACMCICMA); he was also the Canadian voting member of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (AAMCICMA), the recognized authority on setting standards and content for medical education and accrediting MD programs in the US and Canada from 1982 to 1988. This activity required reviews and written comments of all accreditation reports, membership on survey teams and attendance at quarterly meetings in Washington or Chicago, and Ottawa. Finally, he represented the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada on the Board of Accreditation, Canadian University Schools of Nursing, 1994-1996. Currently, Dr Vandewater is a member of the Board of Directors of the Kingston General Hospital, and of Associated Medical Services Inc., (Hannah Institute for the History of Medicine).

Dr Vandewater, who is a life member of Phi Chi medical fraternity, was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Medal in 1997 and Queen’s University Council’s Distinguished Service Award in 1992. Together with the Society’s Gold Medal, these are an indication of the esteem in which he is held by his colleagues, both in the specialty of anesthesia and in the medical profession in Canada.

David A.E. Shephard
MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
CAN J ANESTH 1999 / 47: 8 / pp 823–824

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Contributeur important : Dr Stuart L Vandewater


Dr Stuart L. Vandewater
(1924-2011)


Actuellement professeur émérite d’anesthésie à l’Université Queen’s de Kingston, le Dr Stuart Vandewater a fait, au cours d’une carrière en expansion, d’innombrables contributions à l’anesthésie et à l’administration et l’organisation de la médecine au Canada. Sa carrière montre comment un anesthésiologiste peut exercer une influence sur des activités qui sont bien loin de la salle d’opération.

Le Dr Vandewater est né à Campbellford, en Ontario, le 16 novembre 1924; lui et son épouse Mary (née Baird) ont deux enfants, Steven Paul et Mary Leslie, et deux petits-enfants. Il a fait ses études à l’école publique Frankland et à l’Institut collégial Jarvis de Toronto et a obtenu son diplôme de l’Université de Toronto en 1947. Après un internat par rotation à l’Hôpital Toronto General, le Dr Vandewater est entré au programme nouvellement officialisé de résidence en anesthésie de Toronto, sous la direction du Dr Harry Shields, où il a fait des rotations dans les divers hôpitaux universitaires. Sa formation supplémentaire comprend entre autres une nomination au poste de registraire de l’Infirmerie royale d’Édimbourg, sous la direction de Sir James Learmonth et du Dr John Gillies (où il a étudié particulièrement l’hypotension provoquée), une résidence en médecine interne au Centre médical Sunnybrook et une bourse de recherche R.S. McLaughlin (en 1952-1953, première année de dotation de la bourse) à l’Hôpital Toronto General, axée sur la chirurgie thoracique sous la direction du Dr F.G. Kergin. En 1953, le Dr Vandewater devient Associé du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et membre du corps professoral et du personnel de l’Hôpital Toronto General. Au cours des sept années suivantes à Toronto, il a été membre de l’équipe responsable de l’introduction et de l’utilisation de l’hypothermie (et de l’hypotension) en neurochirurgie des anévrismes cérébraux, en collaboration avec les Drs Harry Botterell et William Lougheed.

Le Dr Vandewater a été nommé professeur et chef du premier Département d’anesthésiologie de l’Université Queen’s en 1960. Au cours des trois décennies suivantes, il a participé à l’évolution de la spécialité et a été témoin de sa maturation en une discipline médicale attrayante, reconnue et saluée par les professionnels. Auteur et coauteur de nombreux articles scientifiques, d’éditoriaux et de chapitres de livres, bon nombre des contributions importantes du Dr Vandewater ont été faites en dehors de la salle d’opération. Parmi celles-ci, notons ses contributions à l’éducation médicale de même qu’à la spécialité de l’anesthésie au Canada par le biais de la Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes (SCA), du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, de l’Université Queen’s et de l’Association des facultés de médecine du Canada.

Le Dr Vandewater a largement contribué au développement de l’anesthésie par l’entremise de la SCA, particulièrement au cours de la période d’expansion passionnante des années 1960 et 1970. Membre de plusieurs comités, président de la Société en 1967-1968 et ensuite secrétaire de 1972 à 1977, il a été au cœur de nombreux événements qui ont formé la spécialité telle que nous la connaissons aujourd’hui. Il a été un véritable pilier dans l’élaboration et l’acceptation d’une nouvelle constitution pour la Société et il a dirigé les chefs de département pour former une association qui a évolué en ce qui est devenu aujourd’hui l’Association des départements d’anesthésiologie des universités canadiennes (ACUDA). Il a été actif au sein du Collège royal à titre d’examinateur (1962-1969), de président du Comité de spécialité (1968-1980) et de membre du Comité des titres (1976-1982). Il a présidé d’autres comités nationaux et provinciaux sur les effectifs en anesthésie et pris part à d’importantes études pluridisciplinaires. Le Dr Vandewater a ensuite obtenu son certificat du American Board of Anesthesiology et est devenu Associé du Collège royal d’anesthésie. La Société canadienne a reconnu la valeur de ses contributions en lui décernant sa Médaille d’or pour service méritoire en 1981.

Au cours de la dernière partie de ses années actives à l’Université Queen’s, le Dr Vandewater a été secrétaire de la Faculté de médecine, doyen associé des études supérieures, directeur de la formation continue en Sciences de la santé et représentant de l’Université auprès du Conseil médical du Canada et du Conseil du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario. Il a terminé sa carrière active à l’Université Queen’s à titre de directeur des célébrations du cent-cinquantenaire de l’université, ce qui comprenait entre autres l’organisation d’une visite officielle de Charles et Diana, le prince et la princesse de Galles, en 1991 et 1992.

En éducation médicale, le Dr Vandewater a été le premier président du Comité d’agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada. Il a également été le membre canadien votant au Comité de liaison sur l’éducation médicale, l’autorité reconnue d’établissement de normes et de contenu en éducation médicale et en agrément des programmes de médecine aux États-Unis et au Canada de 1982 à 1988. Cette activité exigeait du Dr Vandewater qu’il révise et commente par écrit tous les rapports d’agrément, qu’il soit membre des équipes d’inspection et qu’il participe aux réunions trimestrielles à Washington ou Chicago, et à Ottawa. Enfin, le Dr Vandewater a représenté l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada auprès du Conseil d’agrément de l’Association canadienne des écoles de sciences infirmières de 1994 à 1996. Actuellement, le Dr Vandewater est membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Hôpital Kingston General et de l’Associated Medical Services Inc. (Institut Hannah de l’histoire de la médecine).

Le Dr Vandewater, qui est membre à vie de la confrérie médicale Phi Chi, a reçu la Médaille de la Reine Elizabeth II en 1997 et le Prix de service méritoire du Conseil de l’Université Queen’s en 1992. En plus de la Médaille d’or de la Société, ces distinctions témoignent de la grande estime que lui portent ses collègues, tant dans la spécialité de l’anesthésiologie que dans la profession médicale au Canada.


David A.E. Shephard MB FRCPC, Charlottetown, Île-du-Prince-Édouard
CAN J ANESTH 1999 / 47: 8 / pp. 823–824

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA