Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society
  •  

Important Contributor: Dr Wesley Bourne


Dr Wesley Bourne
(1886-1965)


Wesley BourneThe first autonomous university department of anesthesia in Canada was founded at McGill in 1946 and the appointment of Dr Wesley Bourne as Chairman recognized his academic achievements and stature. By then he had been an anaesthetist and pharmacology lecturer for 25 years.

He was a productive investigator, with over 100 publications, who saw beyond the technical limits of anesthesia. He was Secretary of the original Canadian Society of Anaesthetists (1921-7) and suggested its Greek motto, Katheudontas parateroumen (We watch closely those who sleep). He won the British Journal of Anaesthesia Award for the best essay, the Hickman Medal of the Royal Society of Medicine and the first Gold Medal of the Canadian Anaesthetists' Society. He was twice President of the International Association of Anaesthetists (1925 and 1940), Vice-President of the Section of Anesthesia of the Canadian Medical Association (1932) and the only non-American President of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (1942). In recognition of his services to anesthesia he received a silver loving cup from Dr Francis H. McMechan, who alluded to him as a "builder of bridges to the coming generation of anaesthetists."

Who was the man who was to change anesthesia education in Canada? He grew up in Barbados in an Anglican family with ancestry linked to an indentured servant from England. Greek and Latin, taught at the Lodge School, embellish many of his articles. It is not clear why he chose anesthesia. He entered McGill Medical School in 1907, and remained in Montreal for the rest of his career. He had started surgical training with Edward A. Archibald, the "Father of Thoracic Surgery," when Dr F. Willard Nagle solicited his help to give anaesthetics. Despite writing on "The teaching of anesthesia to medical students" and "What constitutes an efficient anesthesia service for a hospital," he disagreed with salaried appointments and refused the position of Chief Anesthesia at the Royal Victoria Hospital.

Wesley Bourne's career spanned two World Wars. With Drs. Harold R. Griffith and M. Digby Leigh he formed the Great Triumvirate of the 1940's. They were commissioned as consultants to the armed forces for the systematic training of medical officers in anesthesia. Teaching was based on the two-year graduate course started in the Montreal hospitals in 1940, which later evolved into the formalized Diploma Course and residency training programme of the post-war McGill department. He represented his department internationally, attending the Centenary of Anaesthesia in Britain in 1946. The Faculty of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland elected him to a fellowship two years later and in 1950, French-Canadian anaesthetists presented Wesley Bourne with his portrait, which today hangs in the McGill Department. When the Anaesthetists' Travel Club became the Academy of Anesthesiology (1954), dedicated to "foster and encourage the advancement of the arts and science of anesthesiology," Wesley Bourne was a charter member.

In his retirement year (1951), there were 490 whole or part-time anaesthetists in Canada. Within three decades Wesley Bourne had seen the specialty develop from only eight Canadian anaesthetists (Drs. W. Bourne, G.M. Geldert, T.R. Hanley, W.G. Hepburn, W.B. Howell, S. Johnston, C. LaRocque and F.W. Nagle). The Canadian Anaesthetists' Society was active and within three years would have its own journal. The Fellowship in Anesthesia was introduced in 1951, and the Certification for specialist anaesthetists of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1971; recognition for his specialty of which Wesley Bourne would have approved.

Although active in the World Health Organization in Paris and at the inception of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists, poor health dogged Wesley Bourne's latter years. His collected works were published as a book "Mysterious Waters to Guard" in 1954. One year after his death, annual Memorial Lectures were initiated at McGill. With the establishment of an Endowed Chair in Anesthesia in 1990, the first in Canada, the memory of Wesley Bourne is preserved.


Joan C Bevan, MD
Toronto, ON
Canadian Journal of Anesthesia 1993 40:3, page 283, reproduced with permission

Links

History of the CAS

Chronology of Events

Important Contributors

Archival Resources

Past Officers and CJA Editors

Société canadienne des anesthésiologistes
  •  

Dr Wesley Bourne


Dr Wesley Bourne
(1886-1965)


Wesley BourneLe premier département universitaire autonome d’anesthésie au Canada a été fondé à McGill en 1946 et la nomination du Dr Wesley Bourne au poste de directeur reconnaissait ses réalisations universitaires et sa réputation. Il était alors anesthésiste et chargé de cours en pharmacologie depuis 25 ans.

Chercheur productif, il compte plus de 100 publications à son crédit et il voyait beaucoup plus loin que les limites techniques de l’anesthésie. Il a été secrétaire de la première Société canadienne des anesthésistes (1921 à 1927) et a suggéré sa devise grecque, Katheudontas parateroumen (Nous veillons sur ceux qui dorment). Il a remporté le Prix de la meilleure dissertation du British Journal of Anaesthesia, la Médaille Hickman de la Royal Society of Medicine et la première Médaille d’or de la Société canadienne des anesthésistes. Il a été deux fois président de l’Association internationale des anesthésistes (1925 et 1940), vice-président de la Section d’anesthésie de l’Association médicale canadienne (1932) et le seul non-Américain élu à la présidence de l’American Society of Anesthesiologists (1942). En reconnaissance des services rendus à l’anesthésie, le Dr Francis H. McMechan lui a remis un vidrecome en argent en disant de lui qu’il « jetait des ponts vers la prochaine génération d’anesthésistes ».

Qui a été cet homme qui devait changer l’éducation en anesthésie au Canada ? Il a grandi à la Barbade, dans une famille anglicane descendant d’un serviteur lié par contrat à long terme provenant d’Angleterre. Le grec et le latin enseignés à l’école Lodge embellissent beaucoup de ses articles. On ne sait pas exactement pourquoi il a choisi l’anesthésie. Entré à la Faculté de médecine de McGill en 1907, il est resté à Montréal pendant le reste de sa carrière. Il avait entrepris sa formation en chirurgie aux côtés du Dr Edward A. Archibald, le « père de la chirurgie thoracique », lorsque le Dr F. Willard Nagle lui a demandé de l’aider à administrer des anesthésiques. Même s’il avait écrit sur « l’enseignement de l’anesthésie aux étudiants en médecine » et « ce qui constitue un service d’anesthésie efficace dans un hôpital », il était contre les nominations à salaire et a refusé le poste de chef de l’anesthésie à l’Hôpital Royal Victoria.

La carrière de Wesley Bourne a chevauché deux guerres mondiales. Avec les Drs Harold R. Griffith et M. Digby Leigh, il a constitué le « Grand Triumvirat » des années 1940. Ils ont été faits officiers consultants auprès des forces armées pour assurer la formation systématique en anesthésie des officiers médecins. La formation reposait sur le cours d’études supérieures de deux ans donné dans les hôpitaux de Montréal en 1940, qui est devenu par la suite le programme structuré de cours menant à un diplôme et de formation en résidence offert par le département de McGill après la guerre. Il a représenté son département sur la scène internationale, participant au Centenaire de l’anesthésie en Grande-Bretagne en 1946. Le corps professoral des anesthésistes de la Grande-Bretagne et de l’Irlande lui a accordé le statut de fellow deux ans plus tard et en 1950, les anesthésistes canadiens-français ont présenté à Wesley Bourne son portrait qui orne maintenant le département de McGill. Lorsque le Club de voyage des anesthésistes est devenu l’Académie d’anesthésiologie (1954) vouée à « favoriser et encourager l’avancement de l’art et de la science de l’anesthésiologie », Wesley Bourne était au nombre des membres fondateurs.

Lorsqu’il a pris sa retraite (1951), le Canada comptait 490 anesthésistes à temps plein ou à temps partiel. En moins de trois décennies, Wesley Bourne a vu évoluer la spécialité qui comptait au départ huit anesthésistes canadiens seulement (Drs W. Bourne, G.M. Geldert, T.R. Hanley, W.G. Hepburn, W.B. Howell, S. Johnston, C. LaRocque et F.W. Nagle). La Société canadienne des anesthésistes était active et publierait son propre journal en moins de trois ans. Le fellowship en anesthésie a été créé en 1951 et le certificat d’anesthésiste spécialisé du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, en 1971 : Wesley Bourne aurait approuvé cette reconnaissance de la spécialité.

Même s’il a été actif au sein de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé à Paris et a participé au lancement de la Fédération mondiale des sociétés d’anesthésiologistes, il a été ennuyé par la maladie vers la fin de sa vie. L’ensemble de son œuvre a été publié dans un ouvrage intitulé « Mysterious Waters to Guard » en 1954. Un an après sa mort, McGill créait des conférences commémoratives annuelles. La création d’une chaire dotée en anesthésie en 1990, la première au Canada, préserve le souvenir de Wesley Bourne.


Joan C. Bevan, MD
Toronto (Ont.)
Journal canadien d’anesthésie 1993 40:3, page 283, reproduit avec autorisation.

Liens

Histoire de la SCA

Chronologie des événements

Contributeurs importants

Ressources d’archives

Anciens dirigeants et rédacteurs du JCA