Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

2014 Recipients – Research Operating Grants & Awards

New Investigator Awards

Abbvie New Investigator Award in Anesthesia

Dr Harsha Shanthanna

Assistant Professor

McMaster University – Anesthesiology, Hamilton, ON

Most Effective Opioid Analgesia in Ambulatory Surgeries: a randomized control, investigator blinded, parallel group with superiority design study of Morphine versus Hydromorphone.

Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society Research Award

Dr Gerard Curley

Assistant Professor

St. Michael’s Hospital – Anesthesia, Toronto, ON

Pre-activated Mesenchymal Stem Cell Therapy for Bacterial Pneumonia.

Subspecialty Awards

CAS Research Award in Neuroanesthesia in memory of Adrienne Cheng

Dr Alana Flexman

Clinical Assistant Professor

University of British Columbia – Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Vancouver, BC

Effect of an alveolar recruitment maneuver on subdural pressure, brain swelling and cerebral perfusion pressure in patients undergoing supratentorial tumour resection.

Dr Earl Wynands Research Award

Dr Michael Zaugg

Full Professor

University of Alberta – Anesthesiology and Pain Med, Edmonton, AB

Anti-inflammatory and infarct size reducing actions of fat emulsions in hearts: an in vivo microPET/CT analysis in rats.

Open Awards

The Canadian Journal of Anesthesia Research Award

Dr David Ansley

Clinical Professor

The University of British Columbia – Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Vancouver, BC

Propofol mediated cardioprotective signal transduction: role of caveolin.

Dr R A Gordon Research Award

Dr Ban Tsui


University of Alberta – Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Edmonton, AB

Local Anesthetic Reversal for Peripheral Nerve Blocks.

Residents’ Research Award

Ontario's Anesthesiologists - CAS Residents' Research Grant

Dr Neil Goldenberg

Resident PGY-3

University of Toronto – Anesthesia, Toronto, ON

The role of the calcium channel TRPV4 in hypoxic pulmonary vasoconstriction.



back to main Research Program page

Current Research Grant winners

2015 winners
2014 winners
2013 winners
2012 winners
2011 winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners
2006 Winners
2005 Winners
2004 Winners
2003 Winners
2002 Winners
2001 Winners
2000 Winners
1999 Winners
1998 Winners
1997 Winners
1996 Winners
1995 Winners