Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

2018 Message from the Research Chair

Message from the Chair

Dolores McKeen, CAS Research Chair

In announcing the 2018 Research Program, Operating Grants and Career Scientist Award, the Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society (CAS) and the Canadian Anesthesia Research Foundation (CARF) set forth their ongoing commitment to supporting investigators who build the scientific foundation of anesthesiology and facilitate its translation into clinical practice. Clinical advances, patient safety, and the future of our specialty are vitally dependent upon support for top-quality anesthesia research in Canada.

The CAS Research Advisory Committee wishes to thank those individuals and groups whose generous donations to CARF have made the Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society 2018 Research Program possible.

In particular, we would like to acknowledge the support of Ontario’s Anesthesiologists.

In 2018, we are offering five operating grants of which two are in subspecialty fields, one open award and one grant that is designated for new investigators. A fifth grant,  the CAS Residents' Research Grant offers support for individuals committed to doing research during their residency training.

In addition to operating grants, CARF also funds the CAS Career Scientist Award in Anesthesia which provides salary support for two years to fund protected research time. This award requires universities to make commitments to their researchers by providing matching funds and guaranteeing protected research time.

The Career Scientist Award has historically been awarded every other year and was last awarded in the 2017-18 year. Typically, it would be next offered in 2019 for 2019-2020.  However, this year, in addition to the 2019 award, we are very pleased to announce that it will be additionally available in 2018 to provide support for the 2018-2019 award cycle. We are excited to be able to offer this increased level of support to our 2018 applicants. The ability of CARF to support an annual Career Scientist Award will be reassessed in 2019.  

Once again, we thank all those who donated to CARF and who share in the commitment to sustain and advance Anesthesia research in Canada.

Dolores Madeline McKeen, MD FRCPC
Chair, CAS Research Advisory Committee


back to main Research page

Career Scientist Award

New Investigator Operating Grants

Subspecialty Operating Grants

Open Operating Grants

Residents' Research Grant

Guidelines and Conditions