Patient Safety

The Patient Safety Committee is committed to promote and advocate a comprehensive patient safety program that serves our patients and CAS members, to establish initiatives that address specific areas, such as safe medication practices, simulation, anesthesia safety database, workplace human factors, education and research, and standards, and to advise the CAS Board of Directors regarding patient safety matters.

Patient Safety Chair(s)

Dr Lucie Filteau
Chair | Ottawa, ON


  • Dr Claude Laflamme, Past Chair
  • Dr Daniel Chartrand
  • Dr Trina Montemurro
  • Dr Richard Merchant
  • Dr Gregory Dobson
  • Dr Sherissa Microys
  • Dr Homer Yang
  • Dr Jordan Tarshis
  • Dr Philippe Richebe
  • Dr Michael Chong
  • Dr Vanessa Sweet
  • Dr James Kim, Executive representative
  • Dr Haotian Wang, Resident representative

Resources – Patient Safety