Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

2016 Recipients – Research Operating Grants & Awards

New Investigator Award

Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society Research Award

Dr Sinziana Avramescu

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Targeting α5GABAARs to treat cognitive dysfunction after mild traumatic brain injury.

Subspecialty Awards

CAS Research Award in Neuroanesthesia in memory of Adrienne Cheng

Dr Philippe Richebé

Hôpital Maisonneuve Rosemont
University of Montreal
Montreal, QC

Evaluation of the combined intraoperative depth of analgesia (NoL) and depth of anesthesia (BIS) monitoring on the patients’ recovery and safety after surgery: A Pilot Study.

Dr Earl Wynands Research Award in Cardiovascular Anesthesia

Dr Keyvan Karkouti

University Health Network
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy for Cardiac Surgery-Associated Acute Kidney Injury: A First-in-Human Pilot Study.

Open Award

Dr R A Gordon Research Award for Innovation in Patient Safety

Dr Zeev Friedman

Mount Sinai Hospital
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Simulation Based Competency Assessment in Anesthesia.

Residents’ Research Award

Ontario's Anesthesiologists - CAS Residents' Research Grant

Dr Terri Sun

University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC

A usability and feasibility evaluation of Panda, a smartphone application designed to support post-operative pain management at home.


back to main Research Program page

Current Research Grant winners

2016 winners
2015 winners
2014 winners
2013 winners
2012 winners
2011 winners
2010 Winners