Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society

2012 Recipients – Research Operating Grants & Awards

New Investigator Operating Grants


Dr Stephen Choi

Sunnybrook Health
Sciences Centre
Toronto, ON


Recipient: Abbott Laboratories New Investigator Award in Anesthesia

Optimizing Pain and Rehabilitation
after Knee Arthroplasty (OPRA)


Dr Katherine Taylor

Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON

Recipient: Baxter Corporation Canadian Research Award in Anesthesia

Evaluating Precision of Therapy-Milrinone


Dr Andrea Rigamonti

St Michael’s Hospital
University of Toronto, Toronto, ON

Recipient: Canadian Anesthesiologists' Society Research Award

Effects of perioperative low-dose pregabalin on post-craniotomy pain:
A two-centre randomized
controlled trial

Subspecialty Operating Grants


Dr Gregory Hare

St Michael’s Hospital
University of Toronto
Toronto, ON

Recipient: Dr Earl Wynands/Fresenius Kabi Research Award

A Prospective Analysis of Methemoglobin as a Biomarker of Tissue Hypoxia During Acute Hemodilutional Anemia in Patients Undergoing Heart Surgery

Dr Bernard MacLeod

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Recipient: CAS Research Award in Neuroanesthesia
in memory of
Adrienne Cheng

Peripheral Antinoceptive GABAB Receptor Activation:
A New Dimension of
Multimodal Anesthesia

Open Operating Grant

Dr Alain Deschamps

Montréal Heart Institute
Montréal, QC

Recipient: Dr RA Gordon Research Award

Feasibility Trial to Maintain Normal Cerebral Oxygen Saturation (rSO2) in High-Risk Cardiac Surgery

Residents' Research Grant

Dr Manoj Lalu

University of Ottawa
The Ottawa Hospital
Ottawa, ON

Recipient: CAS/LMA-Vitaid Residents' Research Grant

In vivo assessment of a cellular clinical-grade immunotherapeutic for septic shock (CELLS2)


Operating Grants and Awards

Current Research Grant winners

2013 winners
2012 winners
2011 winners
2010 Winners
2009 Winners
2008 Winners
2007 Winners
2006 Winners
2005 Winners
2004 Winners
2003 Winners
2002 Winners
2001 Winners
2000 Winners
1999 Winners
1998 Winners
1997 Winners
1996 Winners
1995 Winners