The Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee provides expert advice and guidance on the standards of anesthesia practice and related matters to the CAS Board and society members.

Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee Chair(s)

Dr Gregory Dobson


  • Dr Anthony Chau (Vice Chair)
  • Dr Justine Denhomme
  • Dr Conor Mc Donnell
  • Dr Giuseppe Fuda
  • Dr Rob Milkovich
  • Dr Andrew Milne
  • Dr Kathryn Sparrow
  • Dr Yamini Subramani
  • Dr Christopher Young
  • Dr Sam Frost, Resident Representative
  • CAS President (or designate)
The CAS Chief Executive Officer (CEO) can attend committee meetings at their discretion​.

Resources – Standards and Guidelines

The CAS annually revises and publishes the Guidelines to the Practice of Anesthesia. This document provides “...recommendations (which) are aimed at providing basic guidelines to Anesthesia practice. They are intended to provide for a reasonable and acceptable quality of patient care and should be so interpreted allowing for some degree of flexibility in different circumstances…”

These are not as rigid as ‘Standards” which are typically obligatory and mandatory but rather “Guidelines” which are advisory and are meant to be interpreted and applied to each clinical encounter using the professional judgment of the Anesthesia practitioner and/or Anesthesia department.

The Chair of the CAS Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee frequently receives questions and responds on behalf of the Canadian Anesthesiologists’ Society in assisting with the interpretation of the Guidelines.

Click here to review the updated Guidelines

Send a question to the Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee