Research Advisory

The Research Advisory Committee’s (RAC) most visible activity is overseeing, on behalf of CARF, the administration of the CAS Research Awards Program that offers annual Operating Grants and a Career Scientist Award. RAC is also responsible for advising the CAS Board on the promotion of anesthesia research in Canada and maintaining a watching brief on medical research in Canada to ensure that the CAS remains responsive to trends and initiatives as they develop.

A Grant Standing Subcommittee assists with the adjudication of research awards.

Research Advisory Chair(s)

Dr Philip Jones
Chair | London, ON


  • Dr Diem Tran, Vice-Chair
  • Dr Keith Anderson
  • Dr Scott Beattie
  • Dr Véronique Brulotte
  • Dr Simone Derzi dos Santos
  • Dr Imelda Galvin
  • Dr Alexander Gregory
  • Dr Donald Griesdale
  • Dr Gregory Hare
  • Dr Peter Hedlin
  • Dr Orlando Hung
  • Dr Pascal Laferrière-Langlois 
  • Dr John Mireau
  • Dr Albert Moore
  • Dr Thomas Mutter
  • Dr Mathieu Nadeau-Vallée
  • Dr James Paul
  • Dr Herman Sehmbi
  • Dr Harsha Shanthanna
  • Dr Melissa Shears, Resident Representative
  • Dr Kathryn Sparrow
  • Dr Alexis Turgeon
  • Dr Geoff Warden
  • Dr Stuart McCluskey, CARF Chair
  • CAS President (or designate)
The CAS Chief Executive Officer (CEO) can attend committee meetings at their discretion​.

Resources – Research

About Research Program