The Ethics Committee is responsible for advising the CAS Board of Directors on matters pertaining to the protection of human rights and values in light of ethical, scientific and technological progress in anesthesia, medicine and society in general.


  • Dr Connor Brenna – Resident Representative
  • Dr Marie-Andree Girard
  • Dr Vit Gunka
  • Dr Ian Herrick
  • Dr Ross Hopley – Resident Representative
  • Dr Esther Kang
  • Dr Tracy Kok
  • Dr Gwendolyn Lovsted
  • Dr Michelle Lutsch
  • Dr Andrew Major
  • Dr Miriam Mottar

Resources – Ethics

Peri-Operative Status of “Do Not Resuscitate” (DNR)* Orders and Other Directives that Limit Interventions (November 2019)

Guidelines on the Ethics of Clinical Research in Anesthesia (2011 edition)